Research Guides: DBA Student Research Guide: Data & Statistics

Getting Started

Where can I find data?

Your research topic will determine the selection of sources and data you need.

This research guide provides many links to data sources, but you may also find additional options within other research guides related to you topic.

Full list of Research Guides

Data Sources

Sage Data (Statistical Datasets) This link opens in a new window
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.Help Guide
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results, and industry studies from over 22,500 sources on over 60,000 topics in 600 industries from 50+ countries. Help Video

Statistical Sources on the Web via the University of Michigan
A well annotated and comprehensive directory of statistical websites.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. Help Guide

CA Dept of Health Care Services Statistics
CA Dept. of Education Statistics
CA Dept. of Public Health Data
CA health statistics.
CA Director's Office of Industrial Relations
Statistics on public works projects, occupational injuries & illnesses, the California Consumer Price Index, and alternative workweek programs.
CA Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development (OSHPD)
Detailed hospital and patient reports. Also includes the California Healthcare Atlas.
US Bureau of Labor Statistics - California
Economy at a Glance.
US Census - California Quick Facts
San Francisco Travel
Tourism & hotel occupancy statistics. More information possibly available upon request to SF Travel.

Download data sets from executive branch agencies in a variety of formats.

Bureau of Justice Statistics This link opens in a new window
United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics on all aspects of criminal justice in the U.S. at the state, federal, and tribal levels.
Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. Reports and other products provided cover a broad range of topics including the U.S. labor market, economy, and society.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics This link opens in a new window
All aspects of travel and transportation within and into the U.S. including personal, public transportation, and freight. Data covers air, sea, and land transportation.
U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
The leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Getting Started
Data.gov This link opens in a new window
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Download raw data from executive branch departments in a variety of formats.

Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology
Federal government statistics that can be accessed by agency, topic or key word.
IT Dashboard
IT Dashboard is a website that allows you to view details of federal information technology investments.
National Center for Education Statistics
NCES collects, collates, analyzes, and reports complete statistics on the condition of American education; conducts and publishes reports; and reviews and reports on education activities internationally.
National Center for Health Statistics
Provides statistical information that guides policies to improve the health of the American people.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
Unbiased economic research for public policymakers, business professionals and the academic community.

Statistics of Income
A wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.
US Energy Information Administration
The US EIA collects, analyzes, and disseminates impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment. EIA provides a wide range of information covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices.

USASpending.gov This link opens in a new window
Official source for spending data for the U.S. Government. Shows what and how the federal government spends every year. Follow the money from the Congressional appropriations to the federal agencies and down to local communities and businesses. FAQs

USDA Economic Research Service
The ERS mission is to inform public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development. The ERS is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Asian Development Bank Statistics
The Statistics and Databases section of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) website provides a wealth of information about international poverty, the environment, and general economic indicators.
World Bank Data Portals & Tools
Visualization tools offered via World Bank on numerous global topics.
Eurostat
High quality statistics from the European Union.
Global Consumption Database
Includes household consumption patterns in developing countries.
International Labour Organization
International labor statistics.
International Monetary Fund
Limted access to data on IMF lending, exchange rates, commodities and trade.
Internet World Stats
Find internet usage statistics for over 230 countries.
Japan External Trade Organization
Information on Japanese companies, trade, industries, adn related data on business on Japan.
OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) Stat Extracts
Single platform where users can access datasets compiled by the OECD.

Sage Data (Statistical Datasets) This link opens in a new window
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations. Help Guide

Statistics Canada
Collect, compile, analyze, abstract and publish statistical information relating to the commercial, industrial, financial, social, economic and general activities and conditions of the people of Canada.
Statistics data sources from Globaledge
UNdata
Economic, social and financial topics compiled by the United Nations and affiliated agencies.

World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
Free and open access to global development data. Getting Started

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Government office tasked with gathering data on national accounts, trade, investment, and industry on national and regional basis.
Census Bureau Economic Statistics

Sociological Data Sources

Data Sources from the American Sociological Association
Links and description to the four datasets the ASA frequently uses and sources.
Emory University
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at U. Michigan
Maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. Hosts specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields

Helpful Websites

Economic Indicators from Census Bureau
Provides monthly and quarterly updates on national economic statistics.
Center for Economic Forcasting and Analysis
Developed by Florida State University for conducting economic research and analysis.
The Financial Forecast Center
Provides forecasts for investments, loans, finance, economics, and employment.
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Find research we’ve published and information we’ve collected about the consumer financial marketplace including mortgages. Use these resources to improve your understanding of the marketplace.
Association of National Advertisers
We're All In On Driving Growth for you, your brand, our marketing industry, and humanity.
Kaggle: Your Machine Learning and Data Science Community
Kaggle is the world's largest data science community with powerful tools and resources to help you achieve your data science goals.
Google Dataset Search
Provides datasets for multiple topics
Economic Indicators
A publication from the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee.