Research Guides: DBA Student Research Guide: Databases

Library and Open Access (Free) Databases

The Business Library provides access to many high quality resources for conducting research There are also an increasing number of excellent open access resources at your disposal

SEARCH A-Z DATABASES
An alphabetical list of all of the Library's Databases.

After you have explored the Business Library's subscription databases, consider open-access databases like:

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.
Open Dissertations (via EBSCO) provides free access to thousands of open dissertations.
Semantic Scholar provides free, AI-driven search and discovery tools, and open resources for the global research community. Over 200 million academic papers are indexed and sourced from publisher partnerships, data providers, and web crawls.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Academia.edu has over 40 million academic papers that have been uploaded by more than 12 million researchers around the world.
arXiv.org has scholarly articles in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics
MDPI is the first open access publisher to reach the milestone of one million articles published

TIP: to find additional items published at or by educational institutions add the following to a Google search >> site:edu

For dissertation-specific databases, click on the tab above: Dissertations.

Finding articles and working papers

Find newspaper, trade, and scholarly articles.

Business Source Complete (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business are included--marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, eBooks, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. .
Help Guide
ProQuest (Multi-Database Search) This link opens in a new window
Access to multiple ProQuest databases in one click. Provides full text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Scholarly and general interest literature in business, social sciences, science and technology, and humanities. Help Guide
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles covering a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Access all journal volumes/issues from January 1, 1999 to the present. Help Guide
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
Unbiased economic research for public policymakers, business professionals and the academic community.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Provides over 900,000 research papers in the social sciences (including business) from over 470,000 researchers in more than 50 disciplines. FAQs
Academic Search Complete (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary and peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, and eBooks with comprehensive coverage in key areas of academic study.Help Guide
ScienceDirect - College Edition This link opens in a new window
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, and open access content. The library has access to the Social and Behavioral Sciences subject collection of journals. View Help Tutorials Topics and Help Tutorials

ScienceDirect Topics
Information sheet on topics included in the ScienceDirect database.

See: the following for more options:

Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals research guide
Search A-Z Databases

Key Resources

Use the Company Research Guide

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Annual company reports, ratio data, executive information, analyst reports, SWOT analyses, credit ratings and recent developments. Also includes, industry reports. Help Guide
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Global company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries' officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock information. Help Guide
Business Source Complete (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business are included--marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, eBooks, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. .
Help Guide

Use the Industry Research Guide

S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard and Poor's in-depth company and industry research. Evaluate performance, analyze financials, and gather market data. Industry Surveys, Analysts’ Handbook and The Outlook publications are also available.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Annual company reports, ratio data, executive information, analyst reports, SWOT analyses, credit ratings and recent developments. Also includes, industry reports. Help Guide

Use the Country Research Guide

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Global company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries' officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock information. Help Guide

Use the Marketing Research Guide

Sage Data (Statistical Datasets) This link opens in a new window
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations. Help Guide

Historical Research

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Sign up for free access provided by the Business Library using your GGU email.
US Major Dailies (via Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of print articles from The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Los Angeles Times, The Chicago Tribune, and The Washington Post.

SEARCH E-JOURNALS
Search E-Journals by name or by topic. Length of history varies by journal.
SEARCH ARTICLES & E-BOOKS (EBSCO)

Research Using Directories

Gale Directory Library

Gale Directory Library is a library database with a collection of online resources.

More advanced research may require identifying experts or useful organizations pertinent to your topic. You may discover leads or contacts to pursue via their websites or by emailing them. Try these online resources to see if any are appropriate for your information needs: