This is the "Home" page of the "Company Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Company Research   Tags: swot  

This guide lists recommended databases and websites to use for company research including resources that provide information on company financials, overviews, articles, SWOT analyses, ratios, organization charts and historical company data.
Last Updated: Jul 7, 2014 URL: http://ggu.libguides.com/company_research Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find a Ticker Symbol

A company will have a ticker symbol if it is publicly traded on one of the world's stock indexes. Knowing the ticker symbol for a given company is helpful in finding the most precise information and data.

You can look up ticker symbols on Yahoo! Finance. Simply type the name of the company into the search box next to "Get Quotes." If your company is not listed, check the spelling. If it is still not listed, then it is most likely not a public company.

Mergers & Acquisitions

Check the following sources for information about mergers and acquisitions.

  • LexisNexis Academic
    You can search for a company using the "Get Company Info" search, then look at related M&A info for that company from the left-side navigation of the company report.
  • Mergent Online
    Within a company report, check out the "History" section under the "Company Details" tab. This gives a timeline of noteworthy company history, and you can limit by various criteria such as "Merger completed" or "Acquisition completed."
  • New YorkTimes: DealBook
    DealBook includes news articles about M&A deals and related topics.
  • OneSource Global Business Browser
    Within a company report, look at the "Significant Developments" section and limit by "Mergers / Acquisitions"
  • PrivCo
    PrivCo includes information about private M&A deals. You can create a list using their screener search.
 

Getting Started with Company Research

It is often helpful to start your research with overviews of economic conditions and industries, and then overviews of companies, as you will see in the tips from the pro's, below.

 Before searching, it is helpful to know a few details about your company:

  • Is the company public or private?
  • Is the company headquartered in the United States or abroad?
  • Is the company a parent or subsidiary?

This information can usually be found on a company's web site, which can be located by doing a quick Google search.

To best use this guide, click on the tabs above to find the best resources recommended for different types of company research. Remember you can always ask a librarian if you are having any trouble finding what you need.

 

Company Research Strategies from the Pros

Research strategy tip:  

"Investors who want to look at the "big picture" often start by examining the state of the economy and the stock market in general, and then look, in order, at market sectors, at industries within a sector, and then at companies within a given industry," explains Robert Mitkowski, Jr., in ValueLine's Sector_Analysis July 1, 2011.

Check out how the pros approach company research. Explore the help guides on the GGU financial databases listed below.

See also Standard and Poor's Equity Research Methodology, including Top Down (Macro and Economic Analysis) and Bottom Up Company Analysis research approaches to analyze company stock value.

  • ValueLine Investment Survey - Plus
    Provides investment analysis, research and advice on 1,700 stocks and 90 industries. Research for options, exchange-traded funds and mutual funds.
  • Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
    Search for surveys of U.S. industries, financial and directory information on U.S. companies and profiles of mutual funds.
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center
    Tracks mutual funds, stocks and other managed investments. Screens more than 18,000 stocks and funds using dozens of criteria and provides analyst opinions on 1000 stocks and 2000 funds.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Aira Lipson
Contact Info
415-442-7245
Send Email
 

Instant Message

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip