Research Guides: Country Research: Country Risk

Introduction

There are a variety of sources you can use to determine a country's risk factor for investment purposes or new business opportunities. Such analyses may be evaluating a country's social, economic, political, environmental, intellectual property or financial risk.

Search Tips:

Several reputable web sites provide analysis and reports that are freely available on the internet.
The Business Library also has books & journals available in the print collection that can provide some insight.
While many of the resources listed in this guide will provide an overview of the country in question, it is up to you to interpret the information and come to your own conclusions regarding the risk factors involved with any given country.
Risk analysis can be an inexact science - please consult with your instructor for guidance if you are unsure how to interpret the information you find.

Library Databases

Below are some key library databases that provide country risk analysis.

Business Source Complete (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Search by "Publications" for Latin America Monitor. Within each issue, is a country/regional risk assessment.

Websites

Below are some links to reputable web sites that provide country risk analysis.

Brookings
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. Our mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.
Coface
Coface is a French insurance company that provides useful information. Search by country and sector. Be sure to investigate their "business climate" ratings and explanation of methodology.
Credendo
Credendo is a European credit insurance group that is present all over the continent and active in all segments of trade credit and political risk insurance, providing a range of products that cover risks worldwide.
DoingBusiness.org
Choose the desired country from the "Select an economy" menu near the upper-right corner of the web page.
more...less...
"The Doing business project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 181 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level"
Eurostat
Eurostat provides high-quality statistics and data on Europe.
globalEDGE Country Insights
The globalEDGE website offers original information as well as links to trusted sites. Comprehensive in scope, it also contains excellent country information.
International Trade Administration
The International Trade Administration create prosperity by strengthening the international competitiveness of U.S. industry, promoting trade and investment, and ensuring fair trade and compliance with trade laws and agreements.
Office of the United States Trade Representative
The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) is responsible for developing and coordinating U.S. international trade, commodity, and direct investment policy, and overseeing negotiations with other countries.
The Market Potential Index for Emerging Markets
Another globalEDGE web site.
World Development Indicators
The World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional, and global estimates
World Economic Forum
An independent international organization committed to improving the state of the world by engaging business, political, academic and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas. WEF regularly publishes the "Global Competitiveness Report." The extensive report assesses the competitiveness landscape of 144 economies, providing insight into the drivers of their productivity and prosperity.
World Trade Organizations
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business.

Ebooks

Below are a few items in the Business Library book collection that may be of interest. You can also browse the Country Risk subject in the online library catalog to find additional books that may be of interest.

Country Analysis (ebook) by David M. Currie
Publication Date: 2011
The handbook of country and political risk analysis (ebook) by Llewellyn D. Howell
Publication Date: 2013 (5th ed.)

Journals

Use the library's Journal Finder to access the following title:

Euromoney
ISSN: 0014-2433

Banking, Finance & Investing

Articles, commentary, statistics, thematic issues and news of note on the world's capital, equity and money markets published in London.

SEARCH E-JOURNALS
Find publications on the shelf at the library and online.