Research Guides: Country Research: Websites

Websites

The following resources are links to external sites that offer country analyses.

CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook contains overview information about every country and/or territory in the world. Statistics and information on government, economy, communications, transnational issues, and more, are updated every two weeks.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets - Country Notes
From the US State Department. Country overviews, organized by topic, including political conditions.
Credendo
Risk assessment for any country or continent.
Datamyne - Free Report Library
Trade Rankings reports rank US port and ocean-going carriers. Tops in Trade reports provide the top shippers, consignees and carriers. Quick Look reports measure various impacts on trade. Commercial Opportunity reports offer analysis and current trade statistics on select markets.
Energy Information Administration: Official Energy Statistics from the U.S. Government
Energy data and analysis for 215 countries. Use the map or list to select your country or region. Countries with bold font in the list have analysis briefs available.

Trade.gov This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive market intelligence, trade data and business tools to help U.S. companies export to global markets.

GlobalEDGE Web Portal
Provides tools and resources to efficiently research nearly any international business question you may have. Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs. Click "Global Insights" and choose your country by region.
ILOSTAT
The world's leading source on labor statistics. Provides yearly data on topics like total and economically active population, employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labor cost, consumer price indices, occupational injuries, and strikes and walkouts. Includes household income and expenditures.
International Data Base
The International Data Base presents demographic and socioeconomic statistics compiled by the Census Bureau's International Programs Center (IPC) for 228 countries going back to 1950.
more...less...
Data includes: Population by age and sex; life expectancy; fertility; marital status; and family planning. IDB also includes countries ranked by population for any year from 1950 to 2050 (projected). Also includes world population information.
International Monetary Fund Staff Country Reports
IMF Staff Country Reports provide detailed economic and financial information for individual countries. These reports are now available online going back to 1997.
International Statistics Agencies
The US Census Bureau provides links to statistical agencies of many foreign countries. Some are only available in the national language, but most have an English option.
more...less...
These sites typically include statistical information including population, demographics, etc. Some countries will include their own census information as well as economic data.
International Trade Law Resources
Produced by the member law firms of Lexwork International, this Compendium provides trade law summaries for over 30 jurisdictions prepared by law firms located there. Includes most significant US trading partners. An excellent resource for companies intending to do business in foreign countries and some US states.
Library of Congress' Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
NAI Global: International Commercial Real Estate
Publications include global and local market reports highlighting trends in international real estate.
NationMaster: Where Stats Come Alive!
The NationMaster database is a collection of world statistics. Search by category or country to see rankings in over 5000 categories. See which country has the most soldiers or is the most generous or drinks the most bottled water.
OECD Economic Surveys
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) publishes individual country economic surveys (irreg.) providing national analyses and policy recommendations. Over 40 countries' reports are available.
One World: Nations Online
An ongoing project to promote world understanding and sharing of cultures, the One world Website contains basic information on countries as well as valuable links to nations' newspapers, government agencies, city populations, and more.
UNdata
Economic, social and financial topics compiled by the United Nations and affiliated agencies.
US Embassy
Use the location tabs to go to your region of interest to find links to embassies in that area. Look under featured links to find country specific information.
World Bank: Doing Business
From the web site: "The Doing Business database provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement."
more...less...
"The Doing Business indicators are comparable across 175 economies. They indicate the regulatory costs of business and can be used to analyze specific regulations that enhance or constrain investment, productivity, and growth." The library also has this annual print publication in the reference collection (Ref HD 3611. D656); each year there is a different topic covered, but the business indicators charts are a recurring feature.

World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The Data Catalog provides download access to over 2,000 indicators for over 200 countries around the world, including hundreds that go back 50 years.

United Nations Statistical Division
The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. They compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
United Nations Development Programme
The United Nations Development Programme offers country statistics on various countries and track country development issues. UNDP helps countries develop strategies to combat poverty by expanding access to economic opportunities and resources

Websites - Exchange Rates

Federal Reserve: Foreign Exchange Rates
Provides daily rates going back to 1971.
Measuring Worth: Exchange Rates Between the United States Dollar and Forty-one Currencies
This site provides historical rates by year. It was developed by two economics professors.

Consulting/Tax/Accounting Firms' Country Guides

Many financial firms produce reports on doing business in a variety of countries. These reports typically aren't easy to find, so be sure to read the descriptive text under each link for instructions on how to locate the reports.

Ernst & Young
The easiest way to access E&Y's reports are to google:
site:ey.com "doing business in" and choose form the results.
LexMundi — Network of independent Law Firms
Search for "Guides to Doing Business" in your city/country that you are interested in. These reports are prepared by Lex Mundi's member firms and provide a comprehensive overview of the legal and business environments in more than 100 jurisdictions worldwide. They can serve as a useful resource tool when planning an international business strategy or researching a new business market. [from LexMundi website]
PKF International "A Global Network of Independent Accounting Firms"
Click the "Publications" tab to see "Doing Business in..." country guides as well as international tax alerts and guides.
Price Waterhouse Coopers
Mostly for tax information.
Using google, type: site:pwc.com "doing business in [country]"