Country Research: Home

Succeeding at Business in Southeast Asia walks readers through the steps necessary to build and execute a market entry strategy into Southeast Asia, similar to what Eric Moraczewski did with his clients at FDI Strategies. Step by step, readers will learn about the top five pitfalls as well as common areas of concern and mistakes that can be avoided. These can be internal or external issues, country-specific or endemic to the region, but they all are issues Moraczewski solved regularly with clients and other businesses around the globe. Where possible, examples based on his own career experience are used to help reveal the bigger picture and affirm that everyone can, and often times will, make mistakes. Written with humanity and conversational clarity, Moraczewski's book delves into critical topics such as relationship-building, power structures, and the role culture plays in economic value and ethical standards. He inspires would-be investors by tapping into universal human behaviors and shows how they can be leveraged to make the right business connections abroad.  Additional topics include: Joint ventures Franchising strategy Small businesses breaking into Asia Lessons to bring back from foreign markets

The border region shared by the United States and Mexico is currently experiencing multiple crises on both sides that present challenges to safeguarding the region's sustainable natural resources and to ensuring the livelihoods of its residents. These challenges are exacerbated by stressors including global climate change, increasing urbanization and industrialization and attendant air and water-quality degradation, and rapid population growth. Navigating these challenges and preserving the area?s cultural richness, economy, and ecology will require building strategic partnerships that engage a broad range of stakeholders from both countries. To navigate these challenges, the U.S. National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, together with the Mexican Academy of Sciences (Academia Mexicana de Ciencias), Mexican Academy of Engineering (Academia de Ingenier?a de M?xico), and Mexican National Academy of Medicine (Academia Nacional de Medicina de M?xico), appointed a committee of experts from the United States and Mexico to conduct a consensus study. Advancing United States-Mexico Binational Sustainability Partnerships incorporates features of the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, in particular, Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 17. SDG 17 calls for revitalizing global partnerships for sustainable development. It is specifically focused on the advancement of multi-stakeholder partnerships that require coordination and collaboration among diverse stakeholders in pursuit of a common and mutually beneficial vision. With attention to SDG 17, this report draws on social science theory and applied research on partnerships to explore potential strategies and mechanisms to increase coordination between relevant government agencies, the private sector, and civil society in the United States and Mexico.

This book is a comprehensive, expert guide to doing business in China Western technology, management expertise and capital have fueled an incredible expansion of China's economy. Trade with China is at an all-time high, and so are the numbers of Westerners traveling to China for business. Business from China has also picked up as Chinese firms look to expand abroad. Understanding the ins and outs of the confusing and often contradictory Chinese business culture can lend an enormous advantage. The Chinese Way in Business is an invaluable tool that teaches Westerners the basic Chinese philosophy of doing business and how to cultivate strong personal relationships with Chinese business people and Chinese nationals. The author, Boye Lafayette De Mente worked in Asia for over thirty years as a journalist and business consultant and has long been considered an authority on East Asian business. In this book, he reveals the historical factors, collective traits and individual qualities that determine how the Chinese do business today, and the direction their economy will take in the future. His is a true insider's view--whether the topic is the legal framework for business development, or the importance of social relationships to successful business dealings in China. The book is broken into ten key parts: Introduction: The Land and the People--includes an overview of Chinese ethnicity and the languages of China Part One:Return of the Central Kingdom--an extensive overview of recent events and new technologies in China Part Two: The Historical Perspective--Chinese philosophy and the Chinese mindset from antiquity to modern times Part Three: Doing Business in China--A detailed analysis of the nuts and bolts of Chinese Business Part Four: Key Concepts in Chinese Business--Concepts native to China such as Guanxi (relationships) that drive Chinese business practice Part Five: Additional Business Vocabulary Part Six: Glossary of Useful Terms--designed for quick referencing Part Seven: Internet Gateways to China--An overview of the dynamic online world in China Part Eight: Miscellaneous Information--contains information about English Language Publications and Weather Patterns Part Nine: Learning Some New Skills--Classical Chinese techniques which might benefit Western business people

The ability to connect theoretical macroeconomics to the analysis of the economic and political performance of a given country is an essential skill for global investors. In Country Analysis: Understanding Economic and Political Performance, David M. Currie takes a unique analytical approach to the subject, clearly demonstrating the relationship between theory and application in investing practices. This valuable book shows how to interpret country performance and provides the practising investor with sufficient background on economic principles to be able to understand and interpret country summaries that appear in business periodicals and other media. It covers key topics such as the Washington Consensus and the three major categories of economic decisions - fiscal policy, monetary policy and trade policy. It includes an important chapter on the political aspect of government performance, to give the reader an understanding of economic decisions in their true context. Country Analysis explains the reasoning behind the criteria used in evaluating country risk and economic performance, without the need for a sophisticated understanding of economics or mathematics. Each chapter includes a series of text boxes that include real-life examples from business periodicals to reinforce what is discussed and enable readers to practice identifying and interpreting relevant information. Practitioners making investment decisions in global markets, as well as students in MBA and other courses, will find this immensely practical book a valuable aid to critical decision making.

This book provides the invaluable intercultural knowledge to help you make a deal, sell your product, or find a joint venture, no matter where your business takes you. Business people who work internationally or work with people who are international need to know how to act before they can get the business--and keep it. Proper business communication includes everything from emails to eye contact, and the rules of what is "right" in other countries can be daunting to navigate. Global Business Etiquette: A Guide to International Communication and Customs, Second Edition provides critical information that businesspeople--both for men and women--need to understand the dynamics of cross-cultural communication, avoid embarrassing and costly gaffes, and succeed in business outside of the United States. Topics covered in this indispensible resource include conversation topics that are considered appropriate for different situations; how to make a positive good impression; dress and travel; attitudes toward religion, education, status, and social class; and cultural variations in public behavior. Information is provided about the United States at the end of each chapter about the ten countries that Americans do the most business with to benefit international readers.

Learn the ins and outs of conducting business in South Korea. South Korean companies and technology have suddenly conquered the world. Samsung, Hyundai and LG are industry leaders and the global brands. Korean culture in the form of K-Pop music videos and "Korean Wave" films and TV dramas are watched everywhere from Tel Aviv to Singapore to Rio. Korean gourmet food trucks ply the streets of New York and LA, and kimchi has found a place on the shelves of well-stocked supermarkets around the world. With just a fraction of Japan's land area, less than half its population, and no natural resources--how have Korean companies managed to conquer the world in such a short period of time? What is the "secret sauce" of Korean business practices and companies that make them so successful? To find out, readers need more than statistics and company profiles. Learning the basics of Korean culture, about Korean social etiquette and Korean business culture, will enable you to understand for the first time how Koreans think and why they work so effectively to achieve their goals. This understanding will enhance your own effectiveness in doing business with Koreans, or in competing with them--whether in Korea or elsewhere. The Korean Way in Business is a must-read for business professionals who wish to know the secrets underlying the commercial practices and business success of modern-day Koreans.

Creating Your Success with China This book helps you build, and maintain, success with China. How? Through the often neglected, but vital, area of creating relationships that work and endure in China. Why would this matter so much in a professional or business setting, you may wonder? Because in China, the relationship always precedes the business and determines the latter's success, quality and durability. Only when relationships flourish, does success with China happen. Under investment in relationships and relationship shortcuts are among the primary reasons why good enterprises fail to succeed in China. The relationship skills advocated in this book, once adopted, will be a positive differentiator in your favor, for all your dealings with China, by equipping you with skills of sufficient depth, to ensure success in this relationship-centric culture. The book will encourage you to value these skills, and deploy them proudly in China, in the knowledge that relationship skills are the primary differentiator in this business culture. Through this valuable relationship knowledge, you will become, over time, your own cultural mediator, able to handle diverse business situations and challenges in a culturally adapted way, as they arise. This, in turn, will provide you with the confidence to build, and maintain, enterprise success with China.