Research Guides: Company Research: Company Financials

Databases for Company Financials

The following suggestions are the best resources for finding company financial data. Please refer to the "Historical Finance Data" box below if you need company financials earlier than the past ten years.

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Search for your company by ticker symbol or name. Use the menu on the left side to navigate to the financial data.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
For search help, see: http://www.mergentonline.com/Help/BasicSearchMain.html
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Find company financials and stock reports for S&P 500 companies. Type your company's name or ticker symbol to search for a Company Profile. Search for surveys of U.S. industries, financial and directory information on U.S. companies and profiles of mutual funds.
Value Line Investment Survey - Plus This link opens in a new window
Search a vast array of financial measures for over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities. Delve into Value Line’s accurate estimates, projections and historical data to discover opportunities that fit your investment strategy. Click on Dashboard and explore “Quick Links” to view more industry and stock analyses. Help Guides
SEC Filings (via EDGAR) This link opens in a new window
Public company filings required by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) archived back to 1993. These will be the full filing documents, and will be up-to-date to the most recent filing. [Note no login required]
Official Canadian site that provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by issuers go to: https://www.sedar.com/homepage_en.htm

Many financial institutions are privately-owned. Some basic financial information may be obtained at:

FDIC, if they are insured by them.

FDIC Bank Data & Statistics
Many financial institutions are privately-owned. Some basic financial information may be obtained at FDIC, if they are insured by them.

E-Books for Financial Statement Analysis & Valuation

International Financial Statement Analysis by Thomas R. Robinson; Elaine Henry; Wendy L. Pirie; Michael A. Broihahn; Anthony T. Cope (Foreword by)
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2015
Equity Asset Valuation by Jerald E. Pinto; Abby Cohen; Elaine Henry; Thomas R. Robinson; John D. Stowe; Paul F. Miller (Foreword by)
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2015
Financial Statement Analysis by Martin S. Fridson; Fernando Alvarez
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781119457190
Publication Date: 2022-04-12
The updated, real-world guide to interpreting and unpacking GAAP and non-GAAP financial statements In Financial Statement Analysis, 5th Edition, leading investment authority Martin Fridson returns with Fernando Alvarez to provide the analytical framework you need to scrutinize financial statements, whether you're evaluating a company's stock price or determining valuations for a merger or acquisition. Rather than taking financial statements at face value, you'll learn practical and straightforward analytical techniques for uncovering the reality behind the numbers. This fully revised and up-to-date 5th Edition offers fresh information that will help you to evaluate financial statements in today's volatile markets and uncertain economy

Databases for Company Ratios

Company ratios can be found online in the library databases listed below.

If you are having trouble figuring out what the ratios mean or how they are configured, check the help file for each database.

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Provides company, industry, sector, and S&P 500 ratios for the most recent year. Search by company name or ticker symbol, select the company report, then click the "Annual Ratios" link under the "Financials" heading on the left navigation. The "Ratio Comparisons" feature will compare the industry and sector (as defined by D&B) ratios to the company ratios.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides 15 years of retrospective company ratios. Search by company name or ticker symbol, select the company report, click on the "Company Financials" tab, then select the "Ratios" link. Data can be exported to Excel.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Screens more than 18,000 stocks and funds and provides analyst opinions on 1000 stocks and 2000 funds. Search by company name or ticker symbol, select the company report, then click the "Key Ratios" link at the top.

Databases for Historical Financial Data

For print resources in the library's reference collection that have historical financial data, look at the Standard & Poor's Analyst Handbooks--for S&P index-level data; For recent coverage see the Analyst's Handbook in S&P Global NetAdvantage database

The library has access to historical financial data in a few different resources. For individual company financial data for the last 10 years, look in:

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Search for your company by ticker symbol or name. Use the menu on the left side to navigate to the financial data.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive global company database. Both U.S. public and international public-equivalent companies are represented. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Search by company name or ticker symbol.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard and Poor's in-depth company and industry research. Evaluate performance, analyze financials, and gather market data. Industry Surveys, Analysts’ Handbook and The Outlook publications are also available.

Yahoo! Finance
Search for a company; then click on "Historical Data" and set the desired time period.

Databases for Company bond, debt, fixed income Information

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
To find company bond information, first perform a search for your company. Then click on "Long Term Debt."
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
To find bonds, search for the company. Then, on the left, click on "Fixed Income."

Databases for Company benchmarks, multiples, valuations

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
To find valuation information, such as multiples and benchmark trends, first search for a company; on the left under "Industry information" choose "Financial Information."