Use this information on this page and click the tab for Books & Ebooks to effectively conduct your research.
| APA PsycARTICLES | APA PsycINFO |
| Full-text article |
Many full-text articles, but some items are only abstracts (summary). Search Tip. When using this database, you may want to limit your results to full-text items. If full-text of an article is not available in APA PsycINFO, try searching the title and author in Discovery. Not there? Try searching the title and author in Google. Still can't located the full-text? Request the article through the library service called Interlibrary Loan - (see link for Interlibrary Loan Form below). This process can take 5-10 days, so Interlibrary Loan may not be helpful if you are short on time. |
|
117 journals with full-text article.
|
2,306 journals with abstracts and some full-text articles. |
View all recommended library databases for psychology-related topics: Psychology Databases A-Z
Scroll down this page for short video tutorials - learn how to search effectively.
Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
The world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Not all items are full-text.
Authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research.
Peer review is an editorial process whereby experts in a given field help judge the value of a relevant work or ideas that they were not part of creating. The primary function of peer review is gatekeeping—selecting the best from a pool of submissions. It also serves, however, as a source of constructive criticism, whereby expert feedback by peers can be taken into account to improve ideas, research proposals, and papers.Source: Britannica Academic
Peer reviewed journals and refereed journals are interchangeable terms = same meaning.
Most library databases provide a check-box to limit your search result to articles that are Scholarly and/ or Peer Review.
Although peer-reviewed journals are always scholarly in nature, scholarly journals are not always peer-reviewed. Scholarly journals are research focused, reporting results of original research and experimentation. The articles in these journals are heavily cited in the form of either footnotes or bibliographies, and written by, and addressed to, experts in a discipline. However, whereas peer-reviewed journals require a strict "peer-approval" for publishing, a scholarly journal that is not peer-reviewed only requires the approval of an editorial board. Source: Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Most library databases provide a check-box to limit your search result to articles that are Scholarly and/ or Peer Review.
The interface is different in this demonstration, but the interface you seeing using the GGU subscription to EBSCO APA PsycINFO and APA PsycARTICLES has all of the same features - things just look a little different. These videos are really helpful, but if the difference in the interface confuses you, just ask the GGU librarians for help.
The interface is different in this demonstration, but the interface you seeing using the GGU subscription to EBSCO PsycINFO and PsycARTICLE has all of the same features - things just look a little different. These videos are really helpful, but if the difference in the interface confuses you, just ask the GGU librarians for help.
This video is produced by Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria Library. The video introduces the database and at minute 1:20 teaches you how to search using the example: GRE OR "graduate record examination"