Finance: Overview

Begin your research by reviewing a broad subject overview that will provide a framework for understanding the topic. Try these databases to find brief histories, important statistics, and related authoritative information.

Search Articles and E-Books tool - Search for Finance handbooks

SAGE Knowledge - Search hundreds of encyclopedias and handbooks on key topics in the social and behavioral sciences. User Guide

Full List of Library Databases

• Search A-Z Databases (See descriptions) 

Finance

• Morningstar Investment Research Center 
  Real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. 

• S&P Global NetAdvantage
  Standard and Poor's in-depth company and industry research. Evaluate performance, analyze financials, and gather market data. Industry Surveys, Analysts’ Handbook and The Outlook publications are also available.

• Value Line Investment Survey - Plus 
  Search a vast array of financial measures for over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities. Delve into Value Line’s accurate estimates, projections and historical data to discover opportunities that fit your investment strategy. Click on Dashboard and explore “Quick Links” to view more industry and stock analyses. Help Guides 

• Market Atlas (formerly Mergent Online) 
  Global company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries' officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock information. Help Guide. To find company bond information, first perform a search for your company. Then click on "Long Term Debt."

• S&P Global NetAdvantage

  Standard and Poor's in-depth company and industry research. Evaluate performance, analyze financials, and gather market data. Industry Surveys, Analysts’ Handbook and The Outlook publications are also available. To find bonds, search for the company. Then, on the left, click on "Fixed Income."

Scholarly Articles 
Try these library databases to limit your search to specific types of journals. If appropriate, look for the terms peer review or scholarly journal and limit your search to those types of academic journals only.

• ABI/INFORM Collection (via ProQuest)  

  Includes important business-related full-text scholarly journals, key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Help Guide

• Business Source Complete (via Ebsco)  

  All disciplines of business are included--marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, eBooks, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. 
  Help Guide

• ScienceDirect - College Edition (Elsevier)  

  Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, and open access content. The library has access to the Social and Behavioral Sciences subject collection of journals. View Help Tutorials Topics and Help Tutorials

• US Major Dailies (via Proquest)  

  Full-text of print articles from The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Los Angeles Times, The Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and more.

• Wall Street Journal  

  Sign up for free access to the full WSJ app using your GGU email.

• New York Times
  Sign up for free access to the full NYT app using your GGU email.

• Statista  

  Search this database for dossiers on "Venture Capital" or "Startups."

• Encyclopedia of Business and Finance 
  Designed to meet both the specific research and general inquiry needs of all of these students by providing easy to understand essays covering all of the foundational topics, themes, and theories that will be covered in their business degree curricula. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include academics and business scholars from leading business programs.
   
• How Finance Works
  How different financial levers can affect a company's performance. The different ways in which companies fund their operations and investments. Why finance is more concerned with cash flow than profits. How value is created, measured, and maximized. The importance of capital markets in helping companies grow.
   
• Entrepreneurial Finance 
  A practical approach for entrepreneurs and investors, this book provides readers with the fundamental knowledge to finance, start, grow, and value new ventures, without the complex finance terms and calculations.
   

• Mergers, Acquisitions and Corporate Restructuring 
  Covers the entire spectrum of activities in a typical merger transaction--starting from searching for candidates to closing the deal.

• Corporate Financial Reporting 
  Critically examines contemporary corporate financial reporting, arguing that the complexity of the reporting process and the myriad of issues facing the directors, accountants and auditors can only be successfully understood from a firm conceptual base.

• FinTech Future: The Digital DNA of Finance 
  Fintech is challenging banks and squeezing all our financial transactions onto a mobile screen! Should we be worried?  We make payments via PayPal or Paytm, shop on Amazon or Flipkart, book accommodation on Airbnb or Oyo and call a cab using Uber or Ola apps.
   

• Venture Capital Investments 
  Venture Capital is a form of financing provided by wealthy investors, investment banks and other financial institutions to start-ups and small- to medium-sized enterprises with strong growth potential in exchange of private equity stakes. These investors are also known as venture capitalists.

• Robo-Advisors (Gale E-Books) 
  Robo-advisors are wealth management firms that use software to automatically make investment decisions such as buying and selling securities. Because of this automation, robo-advisors often charge much lower management fees than firms that employ human financial managers to make investment decisions. With this pricing advantage, robo-advisors were rapidly gaining wealth management clients during the mid-2010s, although their total market share was still very small.