- U.S. Census Data
Economic Census data conducted every 5 years on the number of establishments, employees, payroll and sales for business by NAICS code.
- Asian Development Bank Online Publications
Search and download over 3,000 publications on a wide range of topics, from agriculture economics to urban water management.
- Bank for International Settlements
Statistics on banking, securities, derivatives, foreign exchange, external debt and payments.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis
Government office tasked with gathering data on national accounts, trade, investment, and industry on national and regional basis.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. Reports and other products provided cover a broad range of topics including the U.S. labor market, economy, and society.
- Center for Global Development
The Center undertakes independent, high-quality research in economics and other disciplines and works to reduce global poverty through rigorous research and active engagement with the policy community to make the world a more prosperous, just, and safe place for us all.
Portal for data and apps development based on the availability of public sector data.
- European Commission - Economic and Financial Affairs
Each year the Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs (ECFIN) publishes a wide range of publications for experts and the general public. European Economy and its subseries focus on economic and macroeconomic analyses, research, studies and reports contributing to the economic and policy debate. In addition, a variety of periodicals and newsletters, leaflets, booklets and posters cover all aspects of economic and monetary union (EMU) and the euro.
High quality statistics from the European Union.
- Trade.gov This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive market intelligence, trade data and business tools to help U.S. companies export to global markets.
- Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC)
The FOMC controls U.S. monetary policy through open market sale of Treasury securities, regulation of the interest rate charged on loans to commercial banks and other depository institutions, and regulation of amount of funds depository institutions must have on hand against depository liabilities. Policy decisions are made in response to economic dynamics across the U.S. Regional economic conditions are assessed by each Federal Reserve Bank District.
- Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco Publications
Links to Fed in Print (an index of Federal Reserve System economic research publications) and Catalog of Federal Reserve System Public Information Materials.
- Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Created by St. Louis Federal Reserve District, FRED provides historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments and regional economic data.
- IMF (International Monetary Fund) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals, working papers, data visualizations, videos, and books about global monetary cooperation, international trade, employment, and economic growth. IMF at a glance.
- Measuring Worth
This site makes available data on important economic aggregates, with particular emphasis on "nominal (current-price) measures, as well as real (constant-price) measures. It also provides carefully designed calculators (using these data) that explain the many issues involved in making value comparison over time.
- Monthly Labor Review (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Contains articles as well as a monthly statistics section on employment and earnings. Covers less detail but a longer range of years than Employment and Earnings.
- OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) Stat Extracts
Single platform where users can access datasets compiled by the OECD.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN) eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Provides over 900,000 research papers in the social sciences (including business) from over 470,000 researchers in more than 50 disciplines. FAQs
- Statistical Abstract of the United States from U.S. Census Bureau (1878-2012)
No longer being updated, but a well indexed, comprehensive collection of statistics in tabular format. Includes basic statistics for a wide range of economic indicators. The index leads to specific table numbers. Each table lists the source of the statistics for further reference.
- Survey of Current Business
Includes monthly and quarterly cyclical indicator statistics. Tables of economic indicators cover such statistics as personal income, industrial productivity, business sales and inventories, commodity prices, producer prices, labor force, and earnings. Statistical series usually give monthly statistics for the last year and annual statistics for the previous two years.
- Treasury Bulletin
This report of federal fiscal operations includes details of federal debt, bonds, notes, market yield, and other federal financial obligations. Positions of major foreign currencies are included, along with a profile of the domestic economy including growth of GDP, federal deficit, and rate of personal savings.
Economic, social and financial topics compiled by the United Nations and affiliated agencies.
- World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
Free and open access to global development data. Getting Started
- World Economic Forum
An independent international organization committed to improving the state of the world by engaging business, political, academic and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas. WEF regularly publishes the "Global Competitiveness Report." The extensive report assesses the competitiveness landscape of 144 economies, providing insight into the drivers of their productivity and prosperity.