Skip to main content
Banner Image

Library Policies: Library Access

This guide outlines policies regarding library use and library materials.

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES POLICIES – Law, Business

LIBRARY HOURS

Mon - Thu: 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Fri: 7:30 am - 7 pm
Sat & Sun: 10 am - 6 pm


ACCESS POLICY

GENERAL ACCESS

The Law and Business Libraries are open to Golden Gate University students, faculty, staff, and select other groups. Generally, all patrons entering the Library must use a current Golden Gate University ID or access card to enter through the security gate. Law students will have priority during finals on the Law Library Plaza and Basement floors generally, for quiet study space.

GUESTS

  • Students, Staff and faculty who would like to bring guests to the Library are welcome to do so but not on a continual basis.
  • Guests are required to sign in and should not remain in the library beyond when their host leaves.

OTHER ACCESS

Patrons who may use the library without a current access card include:

  • Those requesting use of Federal and California depository documents.
  • ABA approved Bay Area law students, faculty and administrators with school identification. Student ID from other law schools must be for the current term. (Reciprocal access must be available to GGU students and faculty). ABA approved law non-bay area law students can access the law library with special permission from the Law Library Director or Associate Director.
  • Judges and court administrators with appropriate identification.
  • Other individuals may purchase a day pass for $10, or a weekly pass for $45 from the Law Library. These passes do not include borrowing privileges.

Alumni Access

See the Alumni Services and Benefits page for more information.

  • All GGU alumni with a valid GGU Alumni Library card from the Law or Business Libraries may enter either library and use or check-out circulating materials.
  • GGU alumni may use the libraries free of charge for two years following graduation.
  • Access after the first two years requires payment of $25 annual fee.
  • Access to fee-based databases is restricted to GGU students and faculty.
  • No Access to the group study spaces is permitted (group study rooms are for currently enrolled students only)

LIBRARY ALUMNI CARDS (inquire at the Circulation Desk)

  • Alumni with student ID Cards are converted to Alumni Library Cards.
  • Alumni with no cards are issued an alumni library card (requires application).
  • Alumni are charged $10 for a replacement card.

Electronic Access

The Business library web site provides links to a variety of resources of interest to researchers. The online public access catalog provides links to documents that are available online. Access to fee-based databases is restricted to university students, faculty, and staff. The library provides wireless Internet access for students, faculty, and staff.

All access to the law library legal databases is contractually restricted to law students and law faculty. Users will be prompted to login with their last name and GGU Law ID number (found on your ID card) whether accessing these databases from on or off campus.

Government Documents

Golden Gate University’s Law Library has been a selective Federal depository since 1979, as well as a depository for selected government publications of the State of California. The Law Library’s in-house collection includes documents published by the judiciary, the Department of Justice, the Environmental Protection Agency, Executive agencies, the Department of Labor, as well as many others. Golden Gate University’s Law Library complies with Title 44, §1911 of the United States Code by allowing the general public entrance to the law library without charge to use the depository materials. The Law Library’s online catalog also lists many government documents available on the Internet. The Law Library’s web site links suggest the best sites to find government information available online for federal, state, international, and foreign levels of government. The Law Library also provides direct links to the Federal Depository Library Program Electronic Collection.

Members of the public seeking entrance to the Golden Gate University Libraries for the purpose of accessing government documents must sign a log-in binder at the Circulation Desk. A Law Library Reference Librarian (on the Plaza level) is available during Reference Desk hours to assist the public in the use of government documents.

Visit the Government Documents Page

Membership

The Law and Business Libraries invite prospective members to consider the economic advantages of expanding their access to library resources through participation in the Golden Gate Library Membership program. Golden Gate University alumni may join at a reduced rate. All the information is available on our Library Services page.

MEMBERSHIP CATEGORIES

  • Individual Members ($450.00 annual fee)
    Attorney, corporate officers and others may apply for individual membership. Corporate or firm librarians are not eligible for individual membership. One membership card for a designated individual is included. This card is not transferable. Borrowing privileges are permitted in accordance with library loan policies.
  • Institutional Members ($1,000.00 annual fee)
    Law firms, corporations, and businesses may apply for institutional membership. Four membership cards are included with this membership and the card may be used by anyone within the institution. Borrowing privileges are granted only to those persons carrying membership cards and in accordance with the Law Library loan policies. Additional cards are available at $150.00 each.
  • Non-Profit Organization Members ($250.00 annual fee)
    Nonprofit public interest and other legal services organizations or government agencies may apply for nonprofit organization membership. One membership card is included with this membership and the card(s) can be used by anyone within the institution. Borrowing privileges are permitted in accordance with the Law Library loan policies. Additional cards are available at $150.00 each.

Accessing Course Reserves

Many GGU Instructors offer materials through Course Reserves. These items are restricted to enrolled students in the particular class.

Instant Message

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.