Skip to main content
Golden Gate University Logo

Faculty Services: Library Resources

This guide outlines library resources and services available to GGU faculty including: how to place course materials on reserve, arrange for a librarian class visit, search library resources, and much more.

Journals & Featured Reports for Educators

Peer Review. Joural cover art
Book Cover
Book Cover
Book Cover
Bringing theory to practice. Newsletter logo
American journal of business education. Cover art
Business Education Innovation Journal. Cover art
Journal of education for business. Cover art
The e - Journal of Business Education & Scholarship of Teaching. Icon

Course Reserves

Courses Reserves upon faculty request.

Course reserves is a service provided by the Business Library. Faculty are invited to request textbooks and other required/supplemental readings to be placed on course reserves for a term. The Business Library requires faculty to initiate communication regarding course reserves, and to provide a list of readings. The librarians review all course reserves requests. For items not available in the library collections, it will determine if acquisition is possible. See the tab Course Reserves & Copyright for more details.

Online: If you select to set up a course reserves, a password-protected webpage will be created for your course. This webpage will contain the list of readings. This list will be hyperlinked. The hyperlinks can be to a vary of locations depending on your reading list: to articles in the library database; to the library catalog which directs students to the books on reserve for use in the library; to websites and video, and course reserves may also include PDF attachments.

At the library: The Business Library has a collection of course reserves books for 2-hour use in the library.

Instruction

Librarians provide instruction

In-classroom visits

Video tutorial specifically created for your class.

Webinar

Workshops & events

Librarian presentations give your students a chance to get to know us and learn about library services and resources. Instruction will also include information evaluation techniques and real-world searching skills which include strategies for navigating online. Students are motivated to learn from these instruction sessions because they are directly related to their coursework.

Research Guides

Self-service oriented help - research guides

The GGU Business Librarians design and maintain research guides for faculty and students. The guides are are an online tool to help faculty and students navigate library resources and other valuable information sources. The guides address the curriculum focus of GGU, and are generally subject oriented rather than based on a specific course. The contents of the research guides reflect the questions students and faculty ask the librarians. The guides foster independent learning and match users' desire for self-service oriented support.

Use these guides to find case studies and required/supplemental readings. Direct your students to the research guides to complete assignments. The librarians regularly update these guides, and welcome input and recommendations.

Online & On the Shelf

The library's online resources are available 24/7. Login as a GGU user through the library's website. Trouble logging in? Contact the library.

Databases

The library database collection includes real-world professional business resources, as well as academic resources. The databases contain articles, datasets, market research reports, company and industry profiles, and more. Select Browse A-Z Databases from the library's homepage.  Use Journal Finder on the library's homepage to determine which database contains a specific periodical. Use the Research Guides to select the best database for the topic of your research.

Books & Ebooks

Library catalog, Ebook Central (via Proquest), eBook Collection (via Ebsco), O'Reilly eBooks and Video

Periodicals

Print and online

Streaming Video

Films on Demand. Psychotherapy.net.

The Business Library doesn't have what I need.

Interlibrary Loan -- Fill out the request form. The Business Library is part of a collaborative sharing program, and is able to borrow books from other libraries and request full text articles not available in the databases here at GGU. Allow at least a week for delivery.

Need help? Ask us.

Research Assistance

The the GGU business librarians offer research assistance to faculty and students. People are invited to drop-by the Research Assistance Desk during schedule hours, or to make an appointment. The librarians invite people to contact them for an orientation of resources and search tips (including online searching), topic development, specific research questions, and guidance with APA citation.

Various modes: in person, email, phone, chat and video conference.

Taking Sides Collection

The Taking Sides Collection includes current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each Taking Sides issue is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an "Exploring the Issue" section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, Additional Resources, and Internet References.  

This collection of books contains a multitude of current and classic issues and are available at the Information Desk on the main floor of the library.