Research Guides: Healthcare: Getting Started

Healthcare - Topic Development & Background Information

Start your assignment by getting the facts!

Use a library database!

These databases allow you to discover current issues and topics related to healthcare and the healthcare industry.

Use online encyclopedias for background information

Do you like Wikipedia? Try an encyclopedia = creditable, authoritative and trusted. Use these library databases to find background information on your topic.

Gale eBooks
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL). Digital access to reference and handbooks on company information, economics, industry information, and consumer behavior. Help videos
SAGE Knowledge
Hundreds of encyclopedias and handbooks on key topics in the social and behavioral sciences. User Guide

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Explore the fact-checked online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of objective articles, biographies, videos, and images.

Healthcare - Topic Development & Background Information

Helpful websites for getting started

Healthcare.gov
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Veterans Affairs Health Care
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (hhs.gov)
Laws & Regulations. Programs & Services.
Health Economics
Find articles on current issues and trends in healthcare. Knowledge@Wharton. University of Pennsylvania.
Kaiser Family Foundation
KFF serves as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.
Medline Plus
Authoritative information on healthcare, health conditions, treatment, medication, and more. A service produced by the United States National Library of Medicine.
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
We are a nonprofit fighting poverty, disease, and inequity around the world.
PubMed Central
Online database of full text journal articles. Search healthcare and a keyword. For example: delivery, reform, fraud, information technology, artificial intelligence, etc.