Just Say Mikey
by
Managing Back, Mugged by Reality
by
Riptide
by
Romney
by
William G. Milliken: a touch of steel
by
Candy bar surprise
by
Greased Watermelon
by
Will I ever get a big league baseball
by
The Truth about Lightning
by
$50 candy
by
Profiles in prominence / Dan and Patricia Angel, editors
by
The Politics of Nuclear Energy
by
Demystifying Prompt Engineering : AI Prompts at Your Fingertips : A Step-By-Step Guide by Harish Bhat.
Publication date: 2023
Investor Behavior
by
Treachery on the Double
by
Technical Analysis of Stock Trends
by
Sixty-three years. Sixty-three years and Technical Analysis of Stock Trends still towers over the discipline of technical analysis like a mighty redwood. Originally published in 1948 and now in its Tenth Edition, this book remains the original and most important work on this topic. The book contains more than dry chart patterns, it passes down accumulated experience and wisdom from Dow to Schabacker, to Edwards, and to Magee, and has been modernized by W.H.C. Bassetti. Bassetti, a client, friend, and student of John Magee, one of the original authors, has converted the material on the craft of manual charting with TEKNIPLAT chart paper to modern computer software methods. In actuality, none of Magee's concepts have proven invalid and some of his work predated modern concepts such as beta and volatility.In addition, Magee described a trend-following procedure that is so simple and so elegant that Bassetti has adapted it to enable the general investor to use it to replace the cranky Dow Theory. This procedure, called the Basing Points procedure, is extensively described in the new Tenth Edition along with new material on powerful moving average systems and Leverage Space Portfolio Model generously contributed by the formidable analyst, Ralph Vince., author of Handbook of Portfolio Mathematics. See what's new in the Tenth Edition: Chapters on replacing Dow Theory Update of Dow Theory Record Deletion of extraneous material on manual charting New chapters on Stops and Basing Points New material on moving average systems New material on Ralph Vince's Leverage Space Portfolio Model So much has changed since the first edition, yet so much has remained the same. Everyone wants to know how to play the game. The foundational work of the discipline of technical analysis, this book gives you more than a technical formula for trading and investing, it gives you the knowledge and wisdom to craft long-term success.
Note: W.H.C. Bassetti is former GGU professor
Mobile Marketing for Dummies
by
Straightforward advice on building and launching a mobile marketing plan Mobile communication is hot, and so is marketing on mobile devices. Mobile Marketing For Dummies provides a clear and easy path for creating, launching, and making the most of a mobile marketing program. Designed for marketing professionals and other business people who may have little experience with the medium, it explains mobile marketing and how to convert a traditional marketing plan to mobile. Topics include assembling resources and budget, creating a plan, following best practices, building mobile sites, and much more. Explains what mobile marketing is, how you can adapt a traditional marketing plan for mobile, and how to create and launch a mobile marketing plan from scratch Covers activating a plan using voice, text, e-mail, and social media campaigns Explores the nuts and bolts of building mobile sites, apps, monetizing mobile, and advertising on other mobile properties.
Clean, Well-Lighted Sentences
by
Corporate Turnaround
by
A Budget Book and Much More: managing your money, goals, time, assets, vital records
by
A Voyage of discovery
by
Of man and politics : an introduction to political science
by
To make a difference; a student look at America: its values, its society, and its systems of education.
by
The Unsilent Generation; an anonymous symposium in which eleven college seniors look at themselves and their world.
by
Germany: Dilemma for American Foreign Policy
by
The New Professors
by
Modern German Political Theory (Classic Reprint)
by
Excerpt from Modern German Political TheoryFew studies are richer or more revealing of a society's culture than the study of political theory. Having as its subject matter the decision-making which defines what public relationships within and among societies shall be and by whom and for what ends these relationships shall be arranged, political theory is by its very nature concerned with more aspects of individual and social life than almost any other branch of learning. What sources could afford us more comprehensive and pene trating insights into the life of the Greek city-state, for example, than the Laws and the Republic of Plato or Aristotle's Politics? Where could we turn for a more expressive account of the problems and the temper of Renaissance Italy than is to be found in the pages of Machiavelli? Indeed, without reference to its political theory, a society's history whether that of the ancient Athenians or our own - would be all but meaningless. And what is true in this regard of any one time and place is equally true of all societies taken together. The political theory of all the world's known societies, considered as one body of knowledge, is nothing less than the story of man's effort to solve the problems of men living together.About the PublisherForgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.comThis book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
Compensation and Benefit Design
by
In Compensation and Benefit Design, Bashker D. Biswas shows exactly how to bring financial rigor to crucial "people" decisions associated with compensation and benefit program development. This comprehensive book begins by introducing a valuable Human Resource Life Cycle Model for considering compensation and benefit programs. Biswas thoroughly addresses the acquisition component of compensation, as well as issues related to general compensation, equity compensation, and pension accounting. He assesses the full financial impact of executive compensation programs and employee benefit plans, and discusses the unique issues associated with international HR systems and programs. This book contains a full chapter on HR key indicator reporting, and concludes with detailed coverage of trends in human resource accounting, and the deepening linkages between financial and HR planning. Replete with both full and "mini" case examples throughout, this book will be valuable to a wide spectrum of HR and financial professionals, with titles including compensation and benefits analysts, managers, directors, and consultants; HR specialists, accounting specialists, financial analysts, total rewards directors, controller, finance director, benefits actuaries, executive compensation consultants, corporate regulators, and labor attorneys. It also contains chapter-ending exercises and problems for use by students in HR and finance programs.
Your Brand, the Next Media Company
by
Smart Business, Social Business
by
Participation Marketing
by
Trust is an invaluable commodity in any business environment. Organizations benefit from being viewed as transparent, open and human, and one of the best ways of achieving this is through authentic employee advocacy. Participation Marketing takes a detailed look at the benefits that arise when employees are fully subscribed to a brand's ethos, and how this can be used to magnify a brand's voice. After all, it's likely that every individual employee of a company now has several hundred unique social media connections, if not more. So by engaging staff and encouraging them to participate in company activity and share via their own channels, they will be broadcasting trusted brand experiences to entirely new groups of consumers. Employee advocacy has always been worth investing in, but as the combination of constant connectedness and conversation becomes standard in our everyday lives, so too grows the importance of leveraging it. Participation Marketing will convince business leaders to think hard about employee advocacy as a channel that has many positive business outcomes. Internally, it will engage employees and make them feel part of something bigger, which will naturally result in employee satisfaction, retention and an increase in productivity. Externally, it will help brands reach new audiences with trusted and relevant stories.
Strictly Business: planning strategies for privately owned businesses : practical answers from America's foremost business planning authorities
by
Careercycles
by
Bie pa, wo bu shi jiao ke shu : $b zui sheng dong de 12 tang Meiguo fa lu ke = Inside American law : in 12 lessons
by
The California gold rush
by
Alcatraz : island of many mistakes
by
Corporate Financial Analysis with Microsoft Excel
by
Floating Upstream
by
Mimi, Money and Me, 101 Realities about Money Daddy Never Taught Me but Mama Always Knew
by
Selling Sin: the marketing of socially unacceptable products
by
Most products and services are marketed in positive or at least neutral environments. Not so with such products as cigarettes, alcoholic beverages, gambling, pornography, and firearms. For these particular products the environment can be actually hostile, and this poses special problems for marketers. It is these unusual marketing challenges that Dr. Davidson explores in this new study. Offering a unique cross-industry comparison of marketing tactics, strategies, and hurdles to be overcome to counter the lack of legitimacy for these products in the marketplace, his book will be fascinating reading for marketing, advertising, and sales professionals as well as for academicians and students in these fields. Readers will gain insights into the difficulties of marketing these five product categories--why there is antagonism to these products, how marketers deal with this antagonism, and what specific marketing practices lead to increased social criticism. The study of these problems leads to a better understanding of the marketing of any product or service where the environment is unfriendly. Dr. Davidson discusses in some detail the different circumstances surrounding each of these product categories but points out that what they have in common is a high level of controversy at this point in their history. Hostility toward the products comes not from consumers. Buyers, and of course, sellers, enter into the exchange relationship quite willingly and enthusiastically. The hostility stems from some segments of society--often advocacy groups--who are opposed to the products and who gain a large enough membership or audience to impede and force changes in normal marketing practices. Marketers thus face the unusual situation of working with products that are perfectly legal, although heavily regulated, but which are socially unacceptable. In addition to the predictable challenges and risks encountered in marketing any product--competitive pressures, changing economic conditions, shifts in consumer behavior--marketers must develop special tactics and strategies to counter the opposition which these products face. These methods are explored here in a book that will make a unique contribution to our understanding of the marketing enterprise overall.
The Moral Dimension of Marketing: essays on business ethics
by
The Moral Dimension of Marketing is a collection of essays that explores the tension between economics and ethics that all marketing executives face on a daily basis. The essays are all based on real-life situations that students and professionals alike will recognize, and they are grouped under familiar marketing headings: targeting, products, pricing, promotion and advertising, distribution, privacy, and inappropriate marketing. Each essay concludes with two or three questions that focus the reader's attention to the critical issues raised in that essay.The book is designed to be used in virtually any marketing course as a supplemental reading to stimulate thoughtful analysis of moral issues; it can also be used as a stand-alone text in a marketing ethics or a business ethics course. It should be provocative reading for marketing professionals as well.
Icebreakers
by
Thinking Strategically in Turbulent Times: an Inside View of Strategy Making
by
An emergent approach to organizational strategy making assumptions that few organizations actually realize the goal of deliberative, top-down strategic planning, and that effective strategy making occurs on a continual basis and is a shared activity of the entire organization. This innovative book provides the first in-depth look at how real organizations are formulating and implementing strategic change under this new paradigm. The authors have dug deep into three large and varied organizations (Hewlett-Packard, the California State University system, and the County of Los Angeles) and identified each one's efforts to develop a new strategic planning process better-suited to match the current pace of change and environmental unpredictability. The book is filled with vignettes, quotes, and real-world examples that illustrate the trend toward faster, more adaptive strategic planning processes. It is relevant for a wide range of business, governmental, and non-profit settings, and should be required reading in any course on strategic planning.
Gender and Violence in Haiti: women's path from victims to agents
by
Women in Haiti are frequent victims of sexual violence and armed assault. Yet an astonishing proportion of these victims also act as perpetrators of violent crime, often as part of armed groups. Award-winning legal scholar Benedetta Faedi Duramy visited Haiti to discover what causes these women to act in such destructive ways and what might be done to stop this tragic cycle of violence. Gender and Violence in Haiti is the product of more than a year of extensive firsthand observations and interviews with the women who have been caught up in the widespread violence plaguing Haiti. Drawing from the experiences of a diverse group of Haitian women, Faedi Duramy finds that both the victims and perpetrators of violence share a common sense of anger and desperation. Untangling the many factors that cause these women to commit violence, from self-defense to revenge, she identifies concrete measures that can lead them to feel vindicated and protected by their communities. Faedi Duramy vividly conveys the horrifying conditions pervading Haiti, even before the 2010 earthquake. But Gender and Violence in Haiti also carries a message of hope--and shows what local authorities and international relief agencies can do to help the women of Haiti.
Peace at Work: the HR Manager's Guide to Workplace Mediation
by
IS THIS BOOK FOR YOU? If you... * are in HR and are tasked with general or specific responsibility for themanagement of workplace conflict * need support and guidance about how best to approach the management of internal workplace conflict* are ready to add to your toolbox a practical skill that fosters a more peaceful workplace * want to make a positive difference in the world ...then it probably is! My goal is to support you to successfully master the skill of workplace mediation. I want to make it easy for you to mediate internal workplace conflict. I want to share with you what I have learnt from working as a professional mediator with an employment and workplace focus. I am going to reveal all I know about resolving conflict as easily as possible, so that you can do it too. I am also going to weave in what I have learnt academically while teaching graduate students the skills of conflict resolution, negotiation and mediation. For some time now, as part of my corporate training practice, I have taught HR managers the skill of mediation through the offices of the Northern California Human Resources Association. Although a book can never replace the learning that occurs in a classic training environment, my hope is to convey to you, through these pages, what I cover when training your colleagues. I do not have to tell you how debilitating poorly managed workplace conflict can be. I want to give you the tools to do something productive about it. Conflict does not have to be a headache. In fact, it should be seen as a sign of vitality; a sign that something needs to change within an organization. Having mediation as a tool can go a long way to support authentic organizational harmony and well-being. And if you are the one doing the mediation, you get the accolades for being a peacemaker! "Peace at Work is a must-read for all HR professionals who aspire to a better solution to workplace conflict and who want to add the skill of mediation to their toolbox. John Ford takes a lifetime of mediation knowledge and presents it in an easy-to-understand, step-by-step process, from opening statements to closing agreements and every step in between." Todd Clawson, MS, Director of Human Resources, Parker County Hospital District "I have worked with John on various mediations over the years. He cares deeply about the people involved in his mediations and this is reflected in his consummate application of the skills and strategies in Peace at Work. This book is a natural complement to, and an excellent compilation of, John''s considerable store of knowledge about mediation in the workplace." Beth Delaney, Human Resource Business Partner, Kaiser Permanente "I had the pleasure of taking a mediation course led by John Ford. He was a truly inspiring teacher and his course proved immediately useful in my work in labor and employee relations. Many of the wise insights John shared with us in class are included in Peace at Work. HR and other managers looking for clear and practical advice about how to conduct a mediation will find it here, and will be better able to see why mediation is potentially so effective in resolving conflict." Maryl Olivera, Labor and Employee Relations, Administrative Office of the Courts "John Ford''s book, Peace at Work, will help any manager or HR professional to successfully mediate conflict. Mr Ford draws from his vast personal experience and insight, as well as that of many experts in the field, in this well-written and well-organized book. He covers foundational concepts and provides a structured approach to what is an easy-to-use, step-by-step model for mediation. Complete with case-study role-plays and a rich appendix of supporting materials and reference listings, the book is a must for anyone who leads people."Peter Haralabopoulos, Flight Attendant Base Director, San Francisco International Airport
To Dream the Perfect Organization
by
57 WAYS TO GROW YOUR BUSINESS
by
CFO Services: a practical how-to guide for accountants
by
CFO SERVICES: A Practical Guide for AccountantsAccounting firms have typically provided a range of 'after-the-fact' compliance and write-up services and have typically done alright financially providing these services. However major innovations in technology and a changing business client demographic is placing pressure on accountants to change their business model. Business clients are looking for more from their accountant, and the traditional model of basic score keeping will be difficult to maintain. Instead those firms providing more comprehensive, timely and useful information to their clients are enjoying significant growth.In addition, as the economy becomes increasingly more specialized, business owners are looking to outsource those functions that while important, don't add value to their bottom line. In fact they recognize the importance of bringing in experts for areas outside of their core competency. One such area, especially for small and medium sized business, is the accounting function. Accountants are perfectly suited to not only advise their clients on accounting systems and processes, but with the right business model, take it off their hands completely.This step-by-step guide will show you everything you need to get this division up and running in your firm quickly. It includes:- Numerous case studies that highlight best practices and common traps to avoid- Pricing and positioning guidelines- Tips for getting the team on board and the picking the "right" clients- Comprehensive checklist, proposals and sample level agreements.
Country risk assessment
by
Computers and Remote Computing Services
by
Intellectual Property
by
This book brings together articles by leading international scholars from diverse disciplinary perspectives who focus on the legal, social and cultural dimensions of intellectual properties - including patents, copyrights, trademarks, trade secrets and rights of publicity. These articles employ a creatively eclectic approach to the study of intellectual property law and policy viewed through the lenses of traditional doctrinal analysis, historical perspectives, critical cultural study, and empirical examinations of intellectual property in action. The volume also directs critical attention to the significance of intellectual property in contemporary processes of globalization and political economy.
The Profit Box System of Forecasting Stock Prices
by
Tight Money Timing
by
Gun Safety and America's Cities
by
Corruption and American cities : essays and case studies in ethical accountability
by
Cybersecurity: Current Writings on Threats and Protection
by
Billions of people are connected through billions of devices across the globe. In the age of this massive internet, professional and personal information is being transmitted and received constantly, and while this access is convenient, it comes at a risk. This handbook of cybersecurity best practices is for public officials and citizens, employers and employees, corporations and consumers. Essays also address the development of state-of-the-art software systems and hardware for public and private organizations.
Development Sustainability Through Community Participation
by
Diaspora Diplomacy
by
Eminent Domain and Economic Growth: Perspectives on Benefits, Harms and New Trends
by
Eminent domain is integral to a government's legal ability to take private property for a public purpose. If used correctly, the owners are paid the fair market value for their property, few citizens are inconvenienced and everyone benefits. Bad-faith abuses of eminent domain typically make the front pages of news outlets, and receive news coverage from television stations, in cities throughout our nation. To educate citizens and prevent future abuse, this book exposes both the good and the bad aspects of government's ability to use their power of eminent domain to acquire private property.
Filipino American Faith in Action
by
Immigration and America's Cities
by
Legal Marijuana: perspectives on public benefits, risks and policy approaches
by
The legalization of marijuana has spread rapidly throughout the United States, from just a handful of states ten years ago to now more than half, as well as the nation's capital. In Canada, it is legal to use and distribute nationally. Thousands of cities and towns are following suit. Legalization seems to be a win-win--people who use cannabis for health and recreation are served, business is brisk, and many governments welcome the much-needed boost in tax revenue. But not everyone thinks so. The rapid pace of legalization has spurred debate among citizens, cities, states and the federal government. This collection of essays explains the benefits and concerns, the policies and actions, and the future of this controversial issue.
Opting for Partnership
by
Philippine Labour Migration
by
Privatization in Practice [eBook]
by
Cost efficiency was the initial goal of privatization--achieved in many cases but not consistently. Public services provided by the private sector were cheap in the beginning but became increasingly expensive, especially to low-income citizens. The lessons learned from early successes and failures gave birth to a new goal--effectiveness of services, as measured by accountable results. Government officials are not looking just for proven budget savings; they must also be concerned with the quality of public services and ultimately the happiness of citizens and communities. In its updated second edition, this collection of essays explores the good and the bad sides of privatization. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.
Privatization in Practice : Reports on Trends, Cases and Debates in Public Service by Business and Nonprofits
by
The 31 articles in this book discuss the pros and cons of privatization of public services. Examined are the need for alternative service delivery; the process of privatization; concrete examples of privatizing services generic to local governments; precautions; and the future of privatization.
Religion at the Corner of Bliss and Nirvana
by
Small Town Economic Development
by
Success Secrets to Maximize Business in the Philippines
by
Veteran Care and Services
by
The public services and care being provided to our veteran citizens are rapidly changing due to the increasing number of veterans that live in our cities. There are more veteran citizens now living in America than ever before, and the veteran population is becoming ever more diverse. For this reason, cities throughout our nation are expanding their public services in scope and scale, as well as enhancing the quality of existing services. This volume documents these rapid developments in order to help our veteran citizens and supporting communities understand the evolving, dynamic, and innovative services and care that are increasingly available to them.
Veteran Care and Services: essays and case studies on practices, innovations and challenges [eBook]
by
The public services and care being provided to our veteran citizens are rapidly changing due to the increasing number of veterans that live in our cities. There are more veteran citizens now living in America than ever before, and the veteran population is becoming ever more diverse. For this reason, cities throughout our nation are expanding their public services in scope and scale, as well as enhancing the quality of existing services. This volume documents these rapid developments in order to help our veteran citizens and supporting communities understand the evolving, dynamic, and innovative services and care that are increasingly available to them.
To Fight and Learn
by
Comic Art, Creativity and the Law
by
The characters and stories found in comic art play a dominant role in contemporary popular culture throughout the world. In this first-of-its-kind work, Comic Art, Creativity and the Law examines how law and legal doctrine shapes the creative process as applied to comic art. The book examines the impact of contract law, copyright law (including termination rights, parody and ownership of characters), tax law and obscenity law has on the creative process. It considers how these laws enhance and constrain the process of creating comic art by examining the effect their often inconsistent and incoherent application has had on the lives of creators, retailers and readers of comic art. It uniquely explains the disparate results in two key comic book parody cases, the Winter Brothers case and the Air Pirates case, offering an explanation for the seemingly inconsistent results in those cases. Finally, it offers a detailed discussion and analysis of the history and operation of the 'work for hire' doctrine in copyright law and its effect on comic art creators.Designed for academics, practitioners, students and fans of comic art, the book offers proposals for changes in those laws that constrain the creative process, as well as a glimpse into the future of comic art and the law.
Copyright Termination and Recapture Laws: good intentions gone awry
by
"Art is in the eye of the beholder, but the protection of the rights of artists and other creators is in the eye of the legislator." Focusing on both policy and practice, Copyright Termination and Recapture Laws describes the policy and legislative evolution of protecting the interest of artists and other creators through copyright protection, first via a two-term system and then via a termination and re-capture system under the 1976 Copyright Act. The only book focused on this important topic for creators and their attorneys, it provides thoughtful guidance on how practitioners can create, submit, and effectively prosecute termination requests under current law. Part I covers the policy issues, addressing the ways the law attempted to address the unequal bargaining power authors have had with respect to their rights to their work, and explanations of the "work for hire" doctrine and its applications, as well as the complex issues involved with works created by independent contractors. Practical guidance forms Part II, examining the issues that arise for practitioners presented with clients who wish to make a claim to terminate a grant of copyright under the 1976 Act Sections of the law, covering all stages of the process, from initial client meetings to the preparation and service of a claim.
Strategic Business Planning Analysis and Marketing the High Technology Initial Public Offering Candidate
by
A Short Course in International Business Plans
by
Robert L. Brown M.B.A., J.D., PH.D. and Alan S. Gutterman M.B.A., J.D., PH.D. are writers, attorneys, educators and business consultants with more than 50 years combined experience in domestic and international transactions
A Short Course in International Joint Ventures
by
Learn Laugh Lead: How to Avoid a Huge Leadershit
by
Take a whiff. There's an awful stench lingering in every organization across the globe. And that's unsurprising.Our world is full of corporate dingleberries - leaders leaving a skid-mark trail for today's business students and young professionals to follow along in. It's disgusting. This endless institutional shitswamp is in desperate need of a fresh, new kind of leader. You (operative word: fresh). Learn, Laugh, Lead: How to Avoid a Huge Leadershit is the industrial roll of toilet paper the professional world's been hoping would come along to clean up after itself. This book teaches you how to maximize your career through storytelling and positive time perception, leaving you with golden nuggets of life lessons from today's best executives and entrepreneurs. We're in the middle of a catastrophe, and we've got to work together to clean up this syndicate shitstorm.Writer and CalArts MFA grad Stephanie M. Taglianetti teams up with professor/businessman/PhD student Brian M. Harman for a unique right brain/left brain approach to leadership development that will leave you laughing hysterically. They will supply you with a diverse toolkit filled with the best behaviors and most valuable skills to help you become a future-proof leader. So, shit or get off the pot. Don't live with regret - get this book now.
Build Your Castles in the Air
by
A Goal Is a Dream with a Deadline
by
This book contains guidelines and maxims from leading business people and entrepreneurs concerning the challenges that entrepreneurs face. Enlivened thoughout with cartoons, it gives pragmatic advice for would be entrepreneurs and managers.
Blunt Traumas: Negotiating Suffering and Death
by
Care, Loss and the End of Life
by
New Perspectives on the End of Life
by
This inter-disciplinary volume gathers scholars from around the world to explore clinical, cultural and ethical perspectives on end-of-life care, not only for the dying but also for those who attend the dying as caregivers.
New Perspectives on the Relationship Between Pain, Suffering and Metaphor
by
On Suffering: An Interdisciplinary Dialogue on Narrative and Suffering [eBook]
by
On Suffering : An Interdisciplinary Dialogue on Narrative and Suffering
by
The Presence of the Dead in Our Lives [eBook]
by
This volume offers a selection of articles from authors representing a wide array of disciplines, all of whom explore the following central theme: how can the presence of the dead take life in the hearts of the living? Although individuals die, they can indeed remain "present." But how? Authors in this volume explicate practical mourning strategies to help survivors cope with the tremendous sadness and emptiness experienced when we lose someone we love.
The Presence of the Dead in Our Lives
by
This volume offers a selection of articles from authors representing a wide array of disciplines, all of whom explore the following central theme: how can the presence of the dead take life in the hearts of the living? Although individuals die, they can indeed remain "present." But how? Authors in this volume explicate practical mourning strategies to help survivors cope with the tremendous sadness and emptiness experienced when we lose someone we love.
Terman, S.A., Steinberg, K.E. & Hinerman, N. Flaws in advance directives that request withdrawing assisted feeding in late-stage dementia may cause premature or prolonged dying. BMC Med Ethics 23, 100 (2022). https://doi.org/10.1186/s12910-022-00831-7
Terman, Stanley and Steinberg, Karl and Hinerman, Nate, Timely dying in dementia: let patients judge using a broadened concept of suffering (September 29, 2022). Available at SSRN: https://ssrn.com/abstract=4233695
or http://dx.doi.org/10.2139/ssrn.4233695
The People Dividend
by
Human Capital Systems, Analytics, and Data Mining
by
Human Capital Systems, Analytics, and Data Mining provides human capital professionals, researchers, and students with a comprehensive and portable guide to human capital systems, analytics and data mining. The main purpose of this book is to provide a rich tool set of methods and tutorials for Human Capital Management Systems (HCMS) database modeling, analytics, interactive dashboards, and data mining that is independent of any human capital software vendor offerings and is equally usable and portable among both commercial and internally developed HCMS. The book begins with an overview of HCMS, including coverage of human resource systems history and current HCMS Computing Environments. It next explores relational and dimensional database management concepts and principles. HCMS Instructional databases developed by the Author for use in Graduate Level HCMS and Compensation Courses are used for database modeling and dashboard design exercises. Exciting knowledge discovery and research Tutorials and Exercises using Online Analytical Processing (OLAP) and data mining tools through replication of actual original pay equity research by the author are included. New findings concerning Gender Based Pay Equity Research through the lens Comparable Worth and Occupational Mobility are covered extensively in Human Capital Metrics, Analytics and Data Mining Chapters.
Sarbanes-Oxley for Nonprofits: A Guide to Building Competitive Advantage
by
A complete guide to leveraging the power ofSarbanes-Oxley--specifically for nonprofits The first book to discuss the implications of Sarbanes-Oxleylegislation as it relates to nonprofit organizations,Sarbanes-Oxley for Nonprofits is an essential guide for allnonprofit executives and boards who want to know how the newlegislation can enhance their organization's mission. By establishing a "platinum standard" of operations and governancewithin nonprofit organizations, executives and board members willbe better equipped to attract high-quality staff and board members,as well as the attention of donors and other potential fundingsources. Sarbanes-Oxley for Nonprofits presents the best practicesthat have emerged from the Public Company Accounting Reform andInvestor Protection Act (Sarbanes-Oxley) in a manner that explainstheir source and value to the nonprofit organization. Written for both small and large nonprofits, Sarbanes-Oxley forNonprofits includes: * Practices intended to establish a "platinum standard" ofoperations and governance within the nonprofit * Coverage of audits, financial statements, board activities anddecision making, how to teach board members to read and interpretfinancial statements, conflicts of interest, whistle-blowerprotection, and how to leverage these standards to gain acompetitive advantage * Sarbanes-Oxley best practices and the organizationalculture * Sample documents, forms, and checklists to introduce these bestpractices into any nonprofit organization * And much more!
Adam and Leonora
by
Teaching College Students Communication Strategies for Effective Social Justice Advocacy
by
The Black Professoriat
by
Cultural Competence for Public Managers
by
The Queer community : continuing the struggle for social justice
by
Resilience
by
A Twenty-first Century Approach to Teaching Social Justice
by
Recollections Of An Old Lawyer.
by
Tableau 2023
by
Jumpstart Tableau (e-book)
by
Business Intelligence and Data Warehousing Simplified
by
Tax Research
by
Investments by tax-exempt entities in U.S. realty
by
Tax research
by
This text covers the most up to date tax research students need to know from a practitioner's perspective.
Treasury interpretations, overview of tax procedure, judicial interpretations, communicating research results, and the internal revenue code.
The accounting process; a textbook covering the basic concepts, principles, and conventions of accounting as applied in enterprises operated for profit
by
Homeland Security
by
Homeland Security for the Private Sector
by
Homeland Security Handbook for Citizens and Public Officials
by
Documents of American Democracy
by
Economic Development in Local Government
by
Forms of Local Government
by
Handbook of Strategic Planning
by
How American Governments Work
by
Local Government Election Practices
by
Managing America's Cities
by
Model Government Charters
by
Regional Government Innovations
by
Strategic Planning in Local Government
by
Eminent Domain and Economic Growth: Perspectives on Benefits, Harms and New Trends
by
Eminent domain is integral to a government's legal ability to take private property for a public purpose. If used correctly, the owners are paid the fair market value for their property, few citizens are inconvenienced and everyone benefits. Bad-faith abuses of eminent domain typically make the front pages of news outlets, and receive news coverage from television stations, in cities throughout our nation. To educate citizens and prevent future abuse, this book exposes both the good and the bad aspects of government's ability to use their power of eminent domain to acquire private property.
Community Renewal Through Municipal Investment
by
Local officials are making investment decisions to enhance the quality of life in their communities and to improve economic development conditions. These new programs are not municipal give-away, or, as some call them, corporate welfare programs, but efforts to invest wisely in downtown areas and neighborhoods with the goal of revitalizing them, with the hope that business and commerce will follow. This work presents case studies from Atlanta, Baltimore, Baton Rouge, Berkeley, Boulder, Cambridge, Charleston, Chattanooga, Chesterfield County, Chicago, Cleveland, Denver, DuPont, Grand Forks, Hampton, Hartford, Hayward, Houston, Kansas City, Lake Worth, Little Rock, Madison, Minneapolis, Nashville, New Bedford, Newark, Oakland, Orlando, Petuluma, Portland, Saint Paul, Santa Monica, Seattle, Toronto, and Washington, D.C. The case study topics include streetscapes, public plazas, museums, libraries, cultural parks, walkways and greenways, major infrastructure improvements, transit and transportation enhancements and other works.
The Inner City
by
This handbook provides an overview of the rebuilding of America's urban areas. It examines the condition of contemporary metropolitan cities, and also discusses 14 different practical tools available for public officials to use for inner city renewal. Sixteen case studies are included.
Main Street Renewal
by
Towns and communities across America once revolved around their downtowns. Here, people shopped, worked, relaxed, and worshipped. Changing needs and developments, however, resulted in their abandonment. Over the past decade, citizens have begun to seek ways to rejuvenate their main streets. While these efforts have experienced varying levels of success, this handbook presents many of the more successful programs, providing practical and proven ""how-to"" insights for those communities seeking similar results for their downtowns. The articles collected here provide an introduction to the downtown situation and its complex issues. They illustrate techniques of organization and management, describe the tools required for successful main street renewal, and provide case studies of many successful programs from across the country. This valuable tool for city planners, business people, and private citizens includes a bibliography and index.
Museums, Libraries and Urban Vitality
by
This volume documents the growing trend for cities and towns throughout America to use museums and libraries as vehicles for economic development. Museums of all types and sizes, and libraries from main street behemoths to neighborhood branches, are being used to stimulate inner-city revitalization as well as neighborhood renewal programs. These public amenities draw citizens, tourists and new development to a city's venues, providing a public place for people to focus and gather. In short, the small public investment paid for these cultural centers is much less then the dollars returned to taxpayers from tourism and economic development.This collection of essays presents case studies from Austin, Baltimore, Boston, Brooklyn, Charleston, Christchurch, Cincinnati, Denver, Des Moines, Hartford, Germantown, Indianapolis, Kansas City, Lanark, Little Rock, Memphis, Minneapolis, Miramar, Pekin, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Portland, Prince Rupert, St. Louis, St. Paul, San Jose, Seattle, Tacoma, Tallahassee, Toronto, Valencia, and Wakefield. The case study topics include the role of museums and libraries in promoting urban renewal and downtown redevelopment, revitalizing urban centers, enhancing 'smart communities,' influencing eco-friendly municipal construction trends, and stimulating private development. The work includes several regional and national resource directories, a glossary, and an index to facilitate reference to particular communities and projects throughout the country.
Town and Gown Relations
by
This is a timely work on a very dynamic field. It provides more than 40 best practice case studies from nearly half the states in America, and discusses current and evolving trends in the relations between educational institutions and cities, towns, and other municipalities. The schools include public and private universities and colleges, public school districts, and other local school systems. Case studies examine current and evolving state-of-the-art practices. Appendices include a glossary; regional, national and international resource directories; bibliographic sources; model agreements and documents; a state municipal league directory; a state public library directory; and a summary of distance learning resources. The future of America's cities and schools depends upon the proper management of resources through the use of state-of-the-art town-gown planning practices. Both public officials and taxpayers, faculties, as well as students, benefit from town and gown best practices.
Privatization
by
The 31 articles in this book discuss the pros and cons of privatization of public services. Examined are the need for alternative service delivery; the process of privatization; concrete examples of privatizing services generic to local governments; precautions; and the future of privatization.
Privatization in Practice
by
Cost efficiency was the initial goal of privatization--achieved in many cases but not consistently. Public services provided by the private sector were cheap in the beginning but became increasingly expensive, especially to low-income citizens. The lessons learned from early successes and failures gave birth to a new goal--effectiveness of services, as measured by accountable results. Government officials are not looking just for proven budget savings; they must also be concerned with the quality of public services and ultimately the happiness of citizens and communities. In its updated second edition, this collection of essays explores the good and the bad sides of privatization. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.
America's Cities
by
This book examines the problems of cities in America - a typical post-industrialized country with myriad municipal social issues and economic problems. The issues in US cities are, or will be, faced by cities in other countries throughout the world. The book examines such issues as housing, transport, urban design and planning and local government and attempts to set forth a vision for the 21st century.
America's Cities
by
Cities and Adult Businesses
by
Each year, millions of taxpayer dollars are wasted in lawsuits dealing with the regulation and restriction of adult businesses. In many cases, local public officials fail to adopt suitable policies and procedures before an adult business moves in, and this retroactive approach often leads to drawn-out, expensive lawsuits. This volume provides detailed information, mainly through numerous case studies, on how to proactively introduce various zoning, planning, and licensing restrictions while preventing costly lawsuits.
Cities and Cars
by
Americans for years have treated the automobile as a form of freedom. People can now live in the country and work in the city. Suburbia and shopping malls were made possible by the automobile. And none of this would have been possible without huge legal and financial commitments made by all levels of government to expand America's interstate freeway systems, regional highways, expressways, arterials, commercial avenues, and residential streets. Our society now has a number of significant diseconomies associated with the individual use of the automobile. Traffic congestion and pollution in inner cities have led to a new wave of policies and practices to improve these conditions. The focus of public officials and citizens in most large urban centers is on public mass transportation, such as trains, light-rail systems, and the increased use of buses. In the interim, traffic management practices have increased in importance. This volume collects outstanding recent essays on all aspects of this complex subject. It includes numerous case studies on how cities, towns, and communities throughout the nation are managing the unrestricted use of the personal automobile. Other chapters discuss the future of urban transportation and examines evolving trends. Also included are appendices containing important information in the field.
Cities and Growth
by
This reference work covers the rapidly evolving field of ""cities and growth""; provides the framework and background for the emergence of best growth management practices in America's cities in recent years; includes numerous case studies, or best practices available for reference; focuses on the future of planning practices; and examines future trends, societal changes, urban growth patterns, cities and their infrastructure, and cities and their environment. The appendices include a listing of U.S. periodicals focusing on urban planning practices, a glossary of urban planning terms, a regional resource directory and a national resource directory.
Cities and Nature
by
This work brings together essays from over 50 experts throughout the United States, providing a wide ranging view of the cities and nature efforts that exist throughout the country. Creation, protection, preservation and restoration projects are fully covered. Divided into three sections - cities and nature, best practices, and the future - these case studies come from all types of cities throughout the nation. Differing geographically, politically and culturally, these cities offer a variety of ideas and inspirations while sharing a commitment to an urban environment enhanced by natural beauty.
Cities and the Arts
by
Citizens, nonprofit organizations and local public officials - in increasing numbers - are using the arts and culture as vehicles to improve their downtowns, as well as to enhance general economic conditions within their communities. Public officials especially are learning that they can plant the seeds of urban renewal and, at the same time, promote their city's culture and arts. This not only renews their neighborhoods and downtowns, but also attracts tourists and private investment. A new eclectic economic development model has evolved and is beginning to work in a number of politically, economically, racially and culturally diverse communities throughout America. From Atlanta and Reno to Philadelphia and Seattle, this work includes numerous case studies that demonstrate the ways in which cities and towns are now using the arts to stimulate both downtown and neighborhood revitalization. The future of the arts in cities is also examined. Five appendices are included, as well: ""Cities with Arts, Cultural, and/or Entertainment Districts in the United States,"" ""Regional Resource Directory,"" ""National Resource Directory,"" ""National Directory of State Art Agencies,"" and ""National Directory of Regional Arts Organizations.
Global Models of Urban Planning
by
This volume is based on an international literature search of the best urban planning practices being used in cities throughout the world. The best practices from dozens of cities are described in detail. Such topics as green technology, conservation, infrastructure maintenance, alternative energy, downtown business districts, and recycling are covered, with many others. Additional information is provided for each community used as a case study, including their population, geographical location, and website. There are eight appendices: a periodicals bibliography, a glossary, a list of acronyms and abbreviations, a state municipal league directory, a national planning and development resource directory, an international planning and development resource directory, an international local government resource directory and a state library resource directory, as well as a thorough index.
The Municipal Budget Crunch
by
Also available in print.
THE AI GLOSSARY: Demystifying 101 Essential Artificial Intelligence Terms for Everyone
ISBN: 1738383423
Publication Date: April 8, 2024
Rivertown: rethinking urban rivers
by
Examines efforts in Los Angeles, Washington DC, Chicago, Salt Lake City, San Jose, and other cities to reclaim postindustrial urban riverside land for use as open space, parks and housing. Today's urban riverfronts are changing. The decline of river commerce and riverside industry has made riverfront land once used for warehouses, factories, and loading docks available for open space, parks, housing, and nonindustrial uses. Urban rivers, which once functioned as open sewers for cities, are now seen as part of larger watershed ecosystems. Rivertown examines urban river restoration efforts across the United States, presenting case studies from Los Angeles; Washington, D.C.; Portland, Oregon; Chicago; Salt Lake City; and San Jose. It also analyzes the roles of the federal government (in particular, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers) and citizen activism in urban river politics. A postscript places New Orleans's experience with Hurricane Katrina in the broader context of the national riverside land-use debate. Each case study in Rivertown considers the critical questions of who makes decisions about our urban rivers, who pays to implement these decisions, and who ultimately benefits or suffers from these decisions. In Los Angeles, for example, local nonprofit and academic research groups played crucial roles, whereas Chicago relied on a series of engineering interventions. Some cases--such as the innovative cooperative framework adopted to address problems in the Guadalupe River watershed--offer models for other areas. In each case, authors evaluate the ecological issues and consider urban river restoration projects in relation to other urban economic and environmental initiatives in the region. Rivertown is a valuable resource for urban planners and citizen groups as well as for scholars.
High Tech Product Launch
by
Communication for Justice Administration
by
Hiring Practices and Labor Productivity
by
This title, first published in 1995, examines how certain human resource practices link to labor productivity, and sets out to explain why some firms choose particular practices while others do not. In order to clearly model the relationship between labor productivity and how the firm elects to manage its workers the author has focused on one aspect of HRM #65533; the hiring process. This book contains the results of a research project in which the choice of recruitment and selection procedures and their relation to labor productivity for 495 U. S. businesses were investigated. Hiring Practices and Labor Productivity will be of interest to students of business studies and management.
Marketing Strategy for Creative and Cultural Industries
by
Successful marketing strategies are a vital aspect of any business. This textbook provides students and potential managers in the creative industries with a solid grounding in how to maximize the impact of their marketing efforts across a range of business types in the creative and cultural industries. With a range of learning exercises and real-life examples, this text shows how to create and execute successful marketing plans for creative businesses and is useful for marketing students and practitioners.
Marketing Research for Non-Profit, Community and Creative Organizations
by
'Marketing Research for Non-profit, Community and Creative Organizations' is a comprehensive guide to conducting research methods within the non-profit sector. Highly practical, the purpose of the book is two-fold. Firstly, it aims to educate the readers on how research can be utilized to help their organization reach its goals. Secondly, it shows how to conduct different methods of research, including focus groups, interviews, projective techniques, observations and surveys, and how to use the findings of these to improve products, target customers and develop effective promotions. Concise and well-structured, the text provides a step-by-step process to help the reader understand and apply the various research methodologies. 'Marketing Research for Non-profit, Community and Creative Organizations' is designed for students and will also be invaluable for managers working within non-profit or creative environments.
Entrepreneurship for the Creative and Cultural Industries
by
Artists, musicians, actors, singers, designers and other creative individuals need to understand basic business concepts if they are to successfully pursue their chosen artistic profession. These skills have historically not been taught to creative students, which leaves them unprepared to make a living from their artistic efforts. Entrepreneurship for the Creative and Cultural Industries will teach the basics of business in a way that is relevant to the challenges of running a small business marketing a creative product. Whether it is understanding the basics of business language, appreciating the crucial importance of finance, or using social media marketing, this innovative textbook covers the entrepreneurial skills required to succeed in the creative sector. Including advice from artists who have turned their idea in to a profitable business and worksheets that can be combined into a simple business plan, Kolb helps non-business minded creatives to understand everything they need to succeed in the increasingly competitive creative economy. This textbook is essential reading for non-business students who are looking to understand the business side of the creative sector whilst its practical style will also suit recent graduates in these industries
Integrity
by
The Day Elvis Met Nixon
by
Luv story : from homemade brownies to my own Internet bakery
by
Redeemed
by
It's good to be black : it's the same, but it's different
by
Liftoff
by
Trying to Win at Love
by
Trying to Win at Love tells the funny and inspiring story of a new tennis captain pressed into running a local team because "there's no one else." As his own expectations for success rise, the rookie captain begins to equate wins as validation from his players and competitors. His troubles, which aren't limited to the court, soon mount as quickly as his victories. He finds himself dealing with scheming opponents, bickering teammates, a commitment-crazed girlfriend, and a father he desperately wants approval from. A group of colorful characters and extraordinary events teach him valuable lessons about winning on the court and in life.
Trying to win at love again : a final journey through an extraordinary USTA tennis season
by
Zero (in) Tolerance
by
Veteran Care and Services: essays and case studies on practices, innovations and challenges [eBook]
by
The public services and care being provided to our veteran citizens are rapidly changing due to the increasing number of veterans that live in our cities. There are more veteran citizens now living in America than ever before, and the veteran population is becoming ever more diverse. For this reason, cities throughout our nation are expanding their public services in scope and scale, as well as enhancing the quality of existing services. This volume documents these rapid developments in order to help our veteran citizens and supporting communities understand the evolving, dynamic, and innovative services and care that are increasingly available to them.
Legal Marijuana: perspectives on public benefits, risks and policy approaches
by
The legalization of marijuana has spread rapidly throughout the United States, from just a handful of states ten years ago to now more than half, as well as the nation's capital. In Canada, it is legal to use and distribute nationally. Thousands of cities and towns are following suit. Legalization seems to be a win-win--people who use cannabis for health and recreation are served, business is brisk, and many governments welcome the much-needed boost in tax revenue. But not everyone thinks so. The rapid pace of legalization has spurred debate among citizens, cities, states and the federal government. This collection of essays explains the benefits and concerns, the policies and actions, and the future of this controversial issue.
Selected quantitative techniques for administrators and accountants: (Louvau's black book)
by
Less Work for Less Pay
by
Developing Your Community-Based Organization
by
Applied Risk Analysis
by
Real options analysis : tools and techniques for valuing strategic investments and decisions
by
Advanced Analytical Models : Over 800 Models and 300 Applications from the Basel II Accord to Wall Street and Beyond
by
Modeling risk
by
Careers for Dummies
by
Feeling stuck? Find out how to work toward the career of your dreams If you're slogging through your days in a boring or unrewarding job, it may be time to make a big change. Careers For Dummies is a comprehensive career guide from a top career coach and counselor that will help you jump start your career and your life. Dive in to learn more about career opportunities, with a plethora of job descriptions and the certifications, degrees, and continuing education that can help you build the career you've always wanted. Whether you're entering the workforce for the first time or a career-oriented person who needs or wants a change, this book has valuable information that can help you achieve your career goals. Find out how you can build your personal brand to become more attractive to potential employers, how to create a plan to "get from here to there" on your career path, and access videos and checklists that help to drive home all the key points. If you're not happy in your day-to-day work now, there's no better time than the present to work towards change. Get inspired by learning about a wide variety of careers Create a path forward for a new or better career that will be rewarding and fun Determine how to build your personal brand to enhance your career opportunities Get tips from a top career coach to help you plan and implement a strategy for a more rewarding work life Careers For Dummies is the complete resource for those looking to enhance their careers or embark on a more rewarding work experience.
The Best of Marty Nemko
by
The author has selected 86 of his 3,000+ articles, which have been published in TIME, The Atlantic, Washington Post, etc. They offer ideas on career, relationships, men's issues, and on societal reinventions from education to how we select our political leaders.
Go - No Go
by
GO/NO GO provides both the novice and experienced builder, developer or renovator with the tools to take the good idea project down the feasibility path with minimum risk and protection of investment to determine if it's viable or not....market studies which mean something, how to obtain permit entitlements, preparing proforma costs, obtaining financing, preparation of construction and consulting contracts which are FAIR TO ALL Also included are tips to avoid expensive litigation and disputes and how to minimize change orders and budget overruns. The book also could be titled HOW TO MAKE MONEY IN REAL ESTATE.
Take Charge of Your Brand
by
The great dissents of the "lone dissenter": Justice Jesse W. Carter's twenty tumultuous years on the California Supreme Court
by
Jesse W. Carter served as a justice on the California Supreme Court from 1939-1959, where he was known as ''The Lone Dissenter'' because he wrote so many solo dissents. Many of these opinions were in passionate defense of civil rights, civil liberties, and the rights of labor, criminal defendants, and personal injury victims. Several of the cases were reversed by the United States Supreme Court, or by later decisions of the California Supreme Court, adopting Justice Carter¿s reasoning. This book combines essays on several of those dissents, written by faculty and friends of Golden Gate University School of Law, where Carter earned his law degree in 1913, as well as an essay on the role of dissenting opinions by another great dissenter, Justice William Brennan.
Whitewashing Race
by
White Americans, abetted by neo-conservative writers of all hues, generally believe that racial discrimination is a thing of the past and that any racial inequalities that undeniably persist--in wages, family income, access to housing or health care--can be attributed to African Americans' cultural and individual failures. If the experience of most black Americans says otherwise, an explanation has been sorely lacking--or obscured by the passions the issue provokes. At long last offering a cool, clear, and informed perspective on the subject, this book brings together a team of highly respected sociologists, political scientists, economists, criminologists, and legal scholars to scrutinize the logic and evidence behind the widely held belief in a color-blind society--and to provide an alternative explanation for continued racial inequality in the United States. While not denying the economic advances of black Americans since the 1960s, Whitewashing Race draws on new and compelling research to demonstrate the persistence of racism and the effects of organized racial advantage across many institutions in American society--including the labor market, the welfare state, the criminal justice system, and schools and universities. Looking beyond the stalled debate over current antidiscrimination policies, the authors also put forth a fresh vision for achieving genuine racial equality of opportunity in a post-affirmative action world.
Fired
by
The Big R: a forensic accounting action adventure
by
Risk. It's a factor calculated into all big-time sports operations. But baseball was completely unprepared for the risk of major league murder in the stands. Fleet Walker, internal auditor for the New York Yankees, a forensic accountant, a FBI agent, and the protagonist of The Big R lead the reader through the fundamentals of forensic auditing, while using their accounting skills and knowledge of baseball history to track a serial killer who is threatening the national pastime.Using the form of a novel to stimulate interest, The Big R is designed to supplement a forensic auditing, internal auditing, fraud examination, or graduate financial statements course. Readers will enjoy the suspense of this psychological thriller that integrates the foundations of forensic accounting and brings these applications to life. Authors Crumbley, Ziegenfuss, and O'Shaughnessy mix engaging storytelling with factual and practical information to create a resource guide that is both entertaining and informative.
In the Crossfire of History
by
The Final Crossing
by
Round table/Book forum Postcolonial Studies and the Cold War | Global South Studies
Introduction, Standalone Essay
(2021) Culture and activism: Mongane Wally Serote’s To Every Birth Its Blood, Safundi, 22:1, 80-94, DOI: 10.1080/17533171.2021.1874095. full-text not available via library
(2021) Postcolonial disaster: narrating catastrophe in the twenty-first century, Safundi, 22:3, 297-298, DOI: 10.1080/17533171.2021.1994695
full-text not available via library
(2020) Jerusalem, 1961: Muriel Spark’s Cold War Intrigue, Law & Literature, 32:3, 437-455, DOI: 10.1080/1535685X.2019.1675288
full-text not available via library
(2020) Milan Kundera and the Radical Autonomy of Art, Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction, 61:1, 1-12, DOI: 10.1080/00111619.2019.1642844
full-text not available via library
(2019) ‘Not guilty in the sense of the indictment’: statelessness, rights, and literary form in Eichmann in Jerusalem, Textual Practice, 33:9, 1597-1616, DOI: 10.1080/0950236X.2018.1457565
full-text not available via library
(2017) “Like photographs of ghosts”: representing post-apartheid South Africa in Ivan Vladislavić’s Double Negative, Safundi, 18:4, 365-379, DOI: 10.1080/17533171.2017.1334895
full-text not available via library
(2015) The Literary Imagination, Women: a cultural review, 26:3, 351-353, DOI: 10.1080/09574042.2015.1069147
full-text not available via library
Civilization at Risk: Seeds of Strife
by
While distinguished academies of higher learning, governments, politicians, and the media struggle to find solutions to the imminent dangers posed to the Middle East and the world at large, a devastating human rights war has unfolded, with precious few warriors to combat it, let alone stem the brutal injustice that is of holocaust dimensions. If there is any scourge that puts Civilization at Risk, it is the malignant disregard for the human rights of millions of people, who suffer slavery and inhumane treatment, at the hands of fellow human beings. With 30 million people in slavery, today, 30 million seeds of strife have been sown, as the souls of these victims are seared beyond human recognition. Human Trafficking cannot be combated by indifference or ignorance, but by the education of people world-wide, to awaken them to this 21st Century scourge, as well as by instilling in people world-wide, the courage and determination to stand and fight this evil, as Augustine, Wilberforce and Lincoln did, centuries ago.
Civilization at risk: seeds of war
Tokyo Stroll : A Guide to City Sidetracks and Easy Explorations
by
The Anime Companion
by
The Anime Companion 2
by
Anime Essentials
by
Otaku no video 1982-1985
by
Investing in the Second Lost Decade
by
Technical Analysis Explained
by
The All-Season Investor: successful strategies for every stage in the business cycle
by
The author offers practical straightforward guidance to modern methods of asset allocation. Explains why each stage in the business cycle--including recession--has its profitable investment strategy and provides various techniques for tracking the cycle in order to choose appropriate investments. A ``must-have′′ for investors seeking guidance for the unknown changes ahead.
Martin Pring's Introduction to Technical Analysis
by
Technical analysis is the art of identifying market turning points at a relatively early stage. This is a basic interactive guide to technical analysis. It teaches hows to interpret charts of futures, stocks markets, and options and identify key support and resistance levels. It shows how to use price and volume patterns to identify breakouts.
How to Select Stocks Using Technical Analysis
by
Martin Pring is one of the most respected names in the field of technical analysis. He has written several successful books for McGraw-Hill and speaks worldwide at seminars and conferences on technical analysis. His most successful McGraw-Hill titles is Technical Analysis Explained, now in its 3rd edition, which has sold more than 47,000 copies. McGraw-Hill also published Martin Pring's Introduction to Technical Analysis. This book was the first in an intended series of seven books on various aspects of technical analysis. Now, How to Select Stock Using Technical Analysis is the seventh book in the series. McGraw-Hill will be publishing the entire series of this well-known figure. Each book in the series is a complete guide to a key aspect of technical analysis. Using numerous illustrations, the books are entry-level guides that explain and demonstrate the tools of technical analysis. The books use an interactive CD-ROM/workbook format to cover every important element of technical analysis. The entire series helps traders develop their technical analysis skills using CD tutorials that allow the reader to practice the techniques in realistic market scenarios. There is also a self-te
Martin Pring on Market Momentum
by
The aim of this book is to provide examples of every theory and concept in relation to market momentum. It examines underlying principles, discusses the advantages and disadvantages of various oscillators used to measure momentum, and discusses stochastics, relative strength and the MACDindicator.
Breaking the black box : learn how to design, test and apply mechanical trading systems using profitable examples
by
Study guide for technical analysis explained
by
"The hands-on Study Guide to Martin Pring's technical analysis classic, Technical Analysis Explained, is the definitive guide for mastering technical analysis. In this hands-on companion, technical analysis wizard Martin Pring serves as your personal investing coach, taking you step-by-step through his long-proven methods. .. Use Study Guide for Technical Analysis Explained to reach the next level of technical analysis education and ensure that you start every trading day with the skills you need to come out on top." -- from publisher web page, http://www.mhprofessional.com/product.php?isbn=0071823980#
The Three Skills of Top Trading
by
Culture and Gender in Leadership
by
Reflections on Conventional Wisdom: financial lessons from 2009
by
Douglas Rice uses the unique style of a Quipped Quotes book, a combination of classic quotes with the author's unique quips about those quotes, to amuse and enlighten readers in the world of personal finance and economics. His perspective will enthrall readers and, in many cases, provide a laugh.
Technology, theory, and interpretive discourse: facilitation of experience based on line learning with professional practice
by
At the Edge of the Abyss
by
Masters and Disciples
by
Toward the Light
by
Vulnerable Populations and Transformative Law Teaching
by
The essays included in this volume began as presentations at the March 19 20, 2010 Vulnerable Populations and Economic Realities teaching conference organized and hosted by Golden Gate University School of Law and co-sponsored by the Society of American Law Teachers (SALT). That conference, generously funded by a grant from The Elfenworks Foundation, brought together law faculty, practitioners, and students to reexamine how issues of race, gender, sexual identity, nationality, disability, and generally outsider status are linked to poverty. Contributors have transformed their presentations into essays, offering a variety of roadmaps for incorporating these issues into the law school curriculum, both inside the classroom as well as in clinical and externship settings, study abroad, and social activism. These essays provide glimpses into teaching moments, both intentional and organic, to help trigger opportunities for students and faculty to question their own perceptions and experiences about who creates and interprets law, and who has access to power and the force of law. This book expands the parameters of law teaching so that this next generation of attorneys will be dedicated to their roles as public citizens, broadening the availability of justice. Contributors include: John Payton; Richard Delgado; Steven W. Bender; Sarah Valentine; Deborah Post and Deborah Zalesne; Gilbert Paul Carrasco; Michael L. Perlin and Deborah Dorfman; Robin R. Runge; Cynthia D. Bond; Florence Wagman Roisman; Doug Simpson; Anne Marie Harkins and Robin Clark; Douglas Colbert; Raquel Aldana and Leticia Saucedo, Marci Seville; Deirdre Bowen, Daniel Bonilla Maldonado, Kathleen Neal Cleaver, Colin Crawford, and James Forman, Jr.; Susan Rutberg; Mary B. Culbert and Sara Campos; MaryBeth Musumeci, Elizabeth Weeks Leonard, and Brutrinia D. Arellano; Libby Adler; and Paulette J. Williams. The editorial board includes Raquel Aldana, Steven Bender, Olympia Duhart, Michele Benedetto Neitz, Angela Onwuachi-Willig, Hari Osofsky, and Hazel Weiser.
The Public Agenda
by
In THE PUBLIC AGENDA, students are introduced to six relevant and specific policy issues (the economy, education, health care, terrorism/international affairs, the criminal justice system, and civil and minority rights) and learn how to address them. Succinct, yet detailed enough to spur classroom discussion and debate, THE PUBLIC AGENDA inspires students of public policy and American Government as the authors analyze several differing views of each issue and challenge students to evaluate whether possible solutions adequately meet the public's needs.
Some specialized phases of accounting practice: Contractors' accounts; Accounting for the extractive industries; Brokerage Accounts
Through the Grapevine
by
Conquering Cold-Calling Fear Before and after the Sale
by
Salespeople often find cold-calling the hardest part of their jobs. This book turns cold-calling fear into cold-calling fun. It shows how to convert ?gatekeepers? into allies in accessing those ultimate decision-makers. Learn to avoid voicemail lingo, master the elevator pitch and work the Internet to get that all-important appointment.
Stories Trainers Tell
by
Wake Me up When the Data Is Over
by
The Critical Shift
by
Business Storytelling for Dummies
by
Transforming Business with Program Management
by
The IMC Handbook
by
IMC Handbook in a comprehensive survey of the fast-growing field of integrated marketing communications, the new discipline that merges the fields of advertising, marketing, direct marketing, and marketing communications. All of the readings and cases in this new edition have been totally updated. One-third of them are new to this edition.
The IMC Handbook
by
The IMC Case Book
by
The IMC Sourcebook
by
The IMC case book : cases in integrated marketing communications
by
Some of the world's most respected marketing and advertising professors combined their talents to create the 12 fresh and relevant cases in this Integrated Marketing Communications text. The cases subjects include some of the world's most dynamic marketing organizations such as Peloton, NASCAR, Gibson Guitar, and Seabourn Cruise Line. It also introduces some fascinating lesser-known organizations such as Agaati and Mike's Bike Tours. This book is ideal for courses in marketing, advertising, integrated marketing communications, and communications at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. The cases also are excellent for use by seminar companies and for internal marketing training. A comprehensive set of Teaching Notes is available upon request from the editors.
Understanding Green Business
by
Making Money in Real Estate
by
Real Estate Finance in California
by
Real Estate Investment 80's
by
Investing in Residential Income Property
Psychographics of Telephone Shopping
by
Improving Healthcare Quality and Cost with Six Sigma
by
The Definitive Six Sigma Guide for Healthcare: Methodologies, Tools, and Metrics Rising costs are making healthcare unaffordable for millions, and 100,000 people die every year due to medical error. Healthcare must change dramatically. Many leading healthcare institutions are discovering a powerful toolset for addressing both quality and cost: Six Sigma. In this hands-on, start-to-finish guidebook, four leading experts introduce Six Sigma from the unique standpoint of the healthcare professional, showing exactly how to implement it in real-world environments. Drawing on their unsurpassed experience, the authors offer step-by-step methodologies, tools, and metrics;all thoroughly adapted to the unique realities of healthcare. They demonstrate how to utilize Six Sigma: Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, and Control (DMAIC) process to address even the most challenging problems. They also offer realistic guidance on rolling out Six Sigma initiatives that deliver rapid and sustainable value. The authors show Six Sigma at work in every area of the hospital: clinical, radiology, surgery, ICU, cardiovascular, laboratories, emergency, trauma, administrative services, staffing, billing, cafeteria, even central supply. You'll learn why Six Sigma can produce better results than other quality initiatives, how it brings new rigor and discipline to healthcare delivery, and how it can be used to sustain ongoing improvements for the long term. Coverage includes Adapting Six Sigma methodology, tools, and measurements for healthcare Designing more successful experiments Rolling out your Six Sigma initiative successfully Case studies from every area of the hospital, from the ICU to billing Six Sigma templates modified fully for the healthcare environment Comprehensive and user-friendly, this book will be indispensable to everyone concerned with quality or cost: administrators, managers, physicians, and quality specialists alike. Where Six Sigma is already in use or being considered, it will serve as a shared blueprint for the entire team. Contents Foreword xx Introduction xxi Part I: The Need for Cutting Costs and Improving Quality in Healthcare 1 Chapter 1 Trends in the Healthcare Industry 3 Chapter 2 Excellence (Benchmarks) and Improvement Challenges in the Healthcare System 21 Chapter 3 Applicability of Six Sigma in Healthcare Organizations 31 Part II: Methodology, Tools, and Measurements 59 Chapter 4 The Healthcare Opportunity 61 Chapter 5 Six Sigma Methodology 77 Chapter 6 Understanding Problems: Define, Measure, and Analyze 89 Chapter 7 Solving Problems: Improve and Control 129 Part III: Benefiting from Six Sigma 161 Chapter 8 Case Study Introduction and Profiles 163 Chapter 9 Clinical Case Studies 181 Chapter 10 Operational Case Studies 203 Part IV: Rolling Out and Sustaining Six Sigma 239 Chapter 11 Implementing a Six Sigma Culture 241 Chapter 12 Lean Six Sigma in Healthcare 373 Chapter 13 The Road Ahead 401 Part V: Appendixes 431 Appendix A PMBOK Tools and Techniques 433 Appendix B The Six Sigma Body of Knowledge 437 Appendix D Total Six Sigma Tools Self-Evaluation Form 445 Appendix D Additional Resources 451 Appendix E The Man I Want To Be! 453 Index 455
The Art of Social Conscience
by
Doing Business with Japanese Men
by
A must read for women who work for, sell to, or communicate with Japanese businesses.
Advertising Handbook for Health Care Services
by
Under the editorship of a leading marketing authority, this comprehensive manual explains how to develop effective advertisements for hospital services. Developed for hospital marketers, planners, administrators, and advertising professionals, this much-needed volume analyzes outstanding examples of hospital advertising programs and campaigns--their historical development, media strategy, placement process, and explains how they worked--their reasons for effectiveness. Enhance your skills in creating effective advertisements and learn more about the importance and positive potential that advertising holds in communicating with needed target groups.
Health Marketing and Consumer Behavior
by
How to Write a Marketing Plan for Health Care Organizations
by
Marketing Strategies for Human and Social Service Agencies
by
A practical "how-to" resource for improving your agency's image in the community, this book provides successful strategies and methodologies for marketing a wide variety of social service agencies to both public and private sectors.
Understanding Anorexia Nervosa in Males
by
Advancing Psychotherapy for the Next Generation
by
Eating Disorders
by
Decoding the New Consumer Mind
by
Take a glimpse into the mind of the modern consumer A decade of swift and stunning change has profoundly affected the psychology of how, when, and why we shop and buy. In Decoding the New Consumer Mind, award-winning consumer psychologist Kit Yarrow shares surprising insights about the new motivations and behaviors of shoppers, taking marketers where they need to be today: into the deeply psychological and often unconscious relationships that people have with products, retailers, marketing communications, and brands. Drawing on hundreds of consumer interviews and shop-alongs, Yarrow reveals the trends that define our transformed behavior. For example, when we shop we show greater emotionality, hunting for more intense experiences and seeking relief and distraction online. A profound sense of isolation and individualism shapes the way we express ourselves and connect with brands and retailers. Neurological research even suggests that our brains are rewired, altering what we crave, how we think, and where our attention goes. Decoding the New Consumer Mind provides marketers with practical ways to tap into this new consumer psychology, and Yarrow shows how to combine technology and innovation to enhance brand image; win love and loyalty through authenticity and integrity; put the consumer's needs and preferences front and center; and deliver the most emotionally intense, yet uncomplicated, experience possible. Armed with Yarrow's strategies, marketers will be able to connect more effectively with consumers--driving profit and success across the organization.
Gen BuY [eBook]
by
Discover the forces driving the decisions of today's most sought after consumers According to recent statistics, members of Generation Y shop 25 percent to 40 percent more than the average consumer. In Gen BuY, Yarrow and O'Donnell argue that these voracious and fearless consumers have revolutionized the way Americans shop by turning traditional sales and marketing strategies upside down. Based on solid research, the book offers an in-depth look at what motivates these young people to buy certain products and reject others. The authors reveal what makes these consumers tic-how they define power, why they loath manipulation, and why they rely on technology-and show marketers how they can tap into the buying power of this burgeoning group of consumers. Shows what it takes to successfully woe and win young consumers with purchasing power Filled with surprising insights into the psyche of Gen Y buyers Written by an expert in consumer research and a well-connected media consumer author Gen Buy is a must-have resource for marketers, advertisers, retailers, and manufacturers who want to understand the new generation of consumers.
CFP Board Financial Planning Competency Handbook
by
Artificial Intelligence Driven by Machine Learning and Deep Learning
by
Knowledge Is Power in Four Dimensions: Models to Forecast Future Paradigm
by
Thermal Effects of High Power Laser Energy on Materials
by
The search for growth in revenue from FY75 through FY80 : a study of methods, receipts, and contexts among four private universities / by John Howard Fyfe, Jr.
