Foreign & International Law: International Law

An outstanding desktop tool, the Dictionary of International and Comparative Law is ideal for anyone seeking clear, concise definitions of terminology found in the practice of international and comparative law. This expanded and indispensable guide includes many entries which cannot be found in any other source. What's new in the Third Edition Indisputably the largest dictionary on this subject in print, with over 5,000 entries, 20% of the definitions are revised and enhanced and 500 new entries appear in this edition for the first time. Recognizing the influence of world events, terminology arising from acts of terrorism, such as the attack on the World Trade Center, and the subsequent escalating focus on the war on terrorism comprise many of the new entries.

Thoroughly rewritten and revised, this new edition provides nearly 6,000 A-Z entries that shed light on this complex institution. In addition to articles explaining essential concepts and philosophies, readers will find an all-new set of entries on peace-keeping activities, along with full coverage of every international treaty since the founding of the League of Nations, with generous quotations or full text for all key treaties, conventions, pacts, protocols, and declarations. Extensive cross-referencing and a thorough analytical index help users to navigate the many acronyms and multiple names of documents and organizations. Endorsed with a foreword by current U.N. Secretary-General Kofi Annan, this is the most comprehensive, detailed reference to the U.N. ever published.

Comprehensive while remaining succinct, FUNDAMENTAL PERSPECTIVES ON INTERNATIONAL LAW provides a uniquely effective mix of cases, articles, documents, text, charts, tables, and questions--all of which pique student interest while enhancing their understanding of key topics. The text is complemented by numerous review problems, as well as print and Web resources for further research.

For over half a millennium global law has been central to the practice and analysis of international relations. How has the use of global law shaped international relations of the past and present and how will it shape the future? This work assembles the key articles that have defined the scholarly field of global law to explore customs, treaties and international institutions, the roles they have played in international relations and the effect they have had and will continue to have in the international system. With a wide range of articles covering the classic debates of the role of global law, as well as introducing case studies of the applications of global law, it allows one to ask what the future of global law will be.

Annual

Written by over 800 of the world's leading authorities and edited at the premier research institution for international law, this new edition of the definitive reference work on international law contains over 1,619 articles covering the full breadth of the subject. Articles address the history and theory of international law; all sub-fields such as international criminal law, environmental law, and economic law; leading cases; and significant treaties, organizations, armed conflicts, and geographical issues. Each article contains cross-references to related articles, and includes a carefully selected bibliography of the most important writings and primary materials as a guide to further reading. The Encyclopedia can be used by a wide range of readers. Experienced scholars and practitioners will find a wealth of information on areas that they do not already know well as well as in-depth treatments on every aspect of their specialist topics. At the same time articles can be set as readings for students on taught courses. Every article has been thoroughly peer reviewed and all references have been checked over by the editorial staff giving readers total confidence in the quality and accuracy of the content. The Encyclopedia will be a primary resource for all students and scholars of international law; counsel, judges and arbitrators involved in international law cases; and government legal advisers. Also Available For Purchase An accompanying Index volume for The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is now available separately for purchase. The Index completes the definitive reference work on international law by providing comprehensive lists of all articles and authors contained within the ten volumes. The Index also includes: full citations for every document referenced in each article; full tables of cases and legislation; and a detailed, analytical, A-Z index for the ten volumes.

The authoritative source for the essentials of international lawFor nearly twenty years, the international legal community has relied on one ambitious yet humble volume as a starting point for legal questions. This classic red volume is a one-of-a-kind reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive information on internationallaw.Now in its second edition, Parry and Grant has been completely updated and expanded to include increased coverage in growing areas of international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, and more. Over 2400 entries provide the reader with copious references for furtherresearch including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites.Its alphabetically arranged entries allow the reader to form a deeper understanding than a mere definition could supply and offer concise but substantial information on such essentials of international law as:* Legal terms as used in international law* Significant doctrines* Prominent cases, decisions and arbitration* Important incidents* Judicial and literary figures* Treaties and conventions* Organizations and institutions* AcronymsA documentary appendix includes the United Nations Charter, the Statute of the International Court of Justice and the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties.

This is a revised and updated version of the General Course on Public International Law delivered at the Hague Academy of International Law in the year 2001. The century just ended has seen the greatest transformation of human society in all of recorded history. With that, the pattern of international relations and international law based on the sovereign nation State and the Peace of Westphalia (1648) has also witnessed radical transformation. The whole system that existed one hundred years ago has been swept away in a series of bloody wars, revolutions and social upheavals (violent and non-violent), but the new system is not yet firmly established and in place. Every precedent , whether legal or other, must first be placed in its historical and temporal context before we can see if it is applicable in new circumstances and the historical evolution of any notion or concept is important for an understanding of its current implications. Through a close linkage between law and history, the author takes us through the evolution of international law to where it stands today.

Principles of Public International Law has been shaping the study and application of international law for over 40 years. Written by a world-renowned expert, this book was the first to bring human rights into the mainstream of international law.This seventh edition, fully updated since 2003, continues to provide the balance, clarity and expertise expected by Brownlie readers. The depth of knowledge displayed by the author, along with the detailed referencing and logical structure, make this title an indispensible resource for students,scholars and practitioners working in or studying international law.

This Sixth Edition of Public International Law in a Nutshell is a concise yet accurate summary of the field of public international law, covering its basic sources, actors, and procedures, and key subject matter areas, such as human rights, the law of the sea, international environmental law, the law of war, and U.S. foreign relations law. This edition is fully updated to include recent treaties, institutions, and Supreme Court decisions. The book is intended to be helpful for students, scholars, and practitioners alike.

Ruling the World?: Constitutionalism, International Law, and Global Governance provides an interdisciplinary analysis of the major developments and central questions in debates over international constitutionalism at the UN, EU, WTO, and other sites of global governance. The essays in this volume explore controversial empirical and structural questions, doctrinal and normative issues, and questions of institutional design and positive political theory. Ruling the World? grows out of a three-year research project that brought twelve leading scholars together to create a comprehensive and integrated framework for understanding global constitutionalization. Ruling the World? is the first volume to explore in a cross-cutting way constitutional discourse across international regimes, constitutional pluralism, and relations among transnational and domestic constitutions. The volume examines the core assumptions, basic analytic tools, and key challenges in contemporary debates over international constitutionalization.