Animal Law Guide: Resources in the Law Library

This book, the culmination of forty years of theorizing about the moral status of animals, explicates and justifies society's moral obligation to animals in terms of the commonsense metaphysics and ethics of Aristotle's concept of telos. Rollin uses this concept to assert that humans have a responsibility to treat animals ethically. Aristotle used the concept, from the Greek word for "end" or "purpose," as the core explanatory concept for the world we live in. We understand what an animal is by what it does. This is the nature of an animal, and helps us understand our obligations to animals.

A collaboration between an attorney and an animal protection advocate, this work utilizes the extremely controversial and high-profile "crush video" case, US v. Stevens, to explore how American society attempts to balance the protection of free speech and the prevention of animal cruelty. Starting from the detailed case study of a single prominent ruling, the authors provide a masterful survey of important issues facing society in the area of animal welfare.

Journal. Available on Hein Online.

Topics include animal anti-cruelty laws, industrial and agricultural uses of animals, torts and other claims for harm done to animals, as well as federal, state and local regulation of animal ownership and use, animal rights activism, hunting, fishing and other recreational uses of animals, animals in entertainment, issues arising when animals are the subject of a contract or the intended beneficiary of a will or trust, remedies for harm done to animals, international animal law, and anticipated future legal developments in the field.

Do animals have moral rights? If so, which ones? How does this affect our thinking about agriculture and experimentation? If animals have moral rights, should they be protected by law? These are some of the questions addressed in this collection, which contains more than 30 papers spanning nearly 40 years of debates about animal rights. It includes work by leading advocates of animal rights both in philosophy and law, as well as contributions by those resolutely opposed to the very idea of animal rights. A substantial Introduction surveys key arguments in the area and puts the papers in context.

One of the fastest growing legal disciplines, animal law is concerned with protecting and improving the lives of animals through city ordinances, state and federal laws, international treaties, and cases that impact animals. Over 100 law schools in the U.S. now offer animal law courses, and more lawyers than ever before are looking to start animal law firms or incorporate animal cases into their practices. The first book of its kind, Careers in Animal Law. Welfare, Protection, and Advocacy will help you: Gain an overview of the field from a practicing animal lawyer and professor of animal law Forge a successful animal law career with firms of all types and sizes, government agencies, major corporations, or nonprofit organizations Strike out on your own as a solo practitioner of animal law Learn career tips from a series of animal-lawyer profiles Understand evolving trends in legislation, litigation, and academia that will change the face of animal law in the decades to come Law students interested in animal law, seasoned attorneys seeking a new direction, or any lawyer interested in building a satisfying career will benefit from reading Careers in Animal Law: Welfare, Protection, and Advocacy. Book jacket.

Confronting Animal Abuse presents a powerful examination of the human-animal relationship and the laws designed to protect it. Piers Beirne explores the heated topic of animal abuse in agriculture, science, and sport, as well as the potential for animal assault to lead to inter-human violence. He convincingly shows how from its roots in the Irish plow-fields of 1635 through today, animal-rights legislation has been primarily shaped by human interest and why we must reconsider the terms of human-animal relationships. To confront animal abuse, the book argues, attention must be paid not only to one-on-one cases of animal cruelty, but also to those far more numerous institutionalized harms where animal abuse often defined as socially acceptable.

Are we ready for parrots and dolphins to be treated as persons before the law? In this unprecedented exploration of animal cognition along the evolutionary spectrum-from infants and children to other intelligent primates, from dolphins, parrots, elephants, and dogs to colonies of honeybees-Steve Wise finds answers to the big question in animal rights today: Where do we draw the line? Readers will be enthralled as they follow Wise's firsthand account of the world's most famous animal experts at work: Cynthia Moss and the touchingly affectionate families of Amboseli; Irene Pepperberg and her amazing and witty African Grey parrot, Alex; and Penny Paterson with the formidable gorilla Koko. In many cases, Wise was able to sustain an extended conversation with these extraordinary creatures. No one with even a shred of curiosity about animal intelligence or justice will want to miss this book.

What is "horse sense?" It is basic, practical common sense. It is the ability to apply sensible, reasoned approaches to problems in daily life, and "horse sense" belongs equally with horse activities. Having a general understanding of equine law can help avoid problems that create legal disputes. Equine Law and Horse Sense is designed for people, businesses, and organizations in the horse industry and for the lawyers who serve them.This book will equip you to assess your needs, plan ahead, and take precautions to avoid conflicts. It answers such questions as:* What are the laws regarding horse-related injuries, and what happens if you have been threatened with or plan to file a lawsuit?* Why and when are contracts important, and what details merit consideration?* How can disputes with insurance companies be avoided?* What are some commonsense strategies to help protect the existence of horse operations amid increasing urbanization?This book will better inform you about the law and help you continue to use good "horse sense" for many years to come.

Addressing the interests of non-human animals in an era of globalization requires consideration of a wide range of international influences upon domestic caselaw, policy, and legal doctrine. International agreements and decisions affect much more than simple cross-border transactions in animals or animal-related products and can also impact what individual countries may or may not do internally to address animal cruelty, health, consumer protection interests, cultural preservation, conservation, species preservation, and a host of other issues in their national laws and regulations.

This book explores the impact of a wide range of international environmental and economic laws on domestic efforts to advance non-human animal interests and is suitable for use in a stand-alone seminar or to supplement existing courses with more depth on the myriad connections between domestic animal law and global issues and agreements.

Addressing the interests of non-human animals in an era of globalization requires consideration of a wide range of international influences upon domestic caselaw, policy, and legal doctrine. International agreements and decisions affect much more than simple cross-border transactions in animals or animal-related products and can also impact what individual countries may or may not do internally to address animal cruelty, health, consumer protection interests, cultural preservation, conservation, species preservation, and a host of other issues in their national laws and regulations.

This book explores the impact of a wide range of international environmental and economic laws on domestic efforts to advance non-human animal interests and is suitable for use in a stand-alone seminar or to supplement existing courses with more depth on the myriad connections between domestic animal law and global issues and agreements.

Available through Hein Online only.

Available through Hein Online only.

(American Bar Association, 2009)

This Model Animal Welfare Act has been designed to serve as a basic template and guidance document for those interested in enacting new legislation or improving existing animal protection legislation. It has been drafted using an extensive comparative law exercise, taking into account 'best practice' in the field. Thus it is aspirational in nature; seeking to provide the best possible structures, systems and provisions to protect the welfare of animals.

Providing legal, scientific, social, and ethical information on how the law affects pets, this compelling and compassionate book is a useful resource for lawyers and for anyone interested in the welfare and legal rights of animals. Author Barbara J. Gislason takes an in-depth look at the complicated subject of pet custody disputes from many angles, and offers practical information on how ADR processes such as arbitration and mediation can be used in resolving these often-emotional conflicts. Pet Law and Custody examines all legal issues involved with pets, from family law and divorce to estate planning and how property and tort law affect pet ownership. Beyond its clear explanation of legal topics, Gislason clarifies how scientific knowledge about the cognitive abilities and emotional characteristics of other animals should lead to legal developments. She also offers perceptive insights on how cultural perspectives, cognitive biases, and points of view impact negotiations, alternative dispute resolutions, and decision-making processes. Topics include: - Family law and replevin actions- Alternative dispute resolution- Estate planning for animals- Contract law and the Uniform Commercial Code- Property law- Tort law affecting pet law- Animal cruelty- Dangerous dogs- Science and bioethics- Practical advice for the animal lawyer, including law office basics, handling a legal case, and identifying expertsThroughout the book, the author provides a generous supply of Practice Pointers drawn from her years of practice. A valuable supply of practice-ready appendices includes sample pleadings, agreements, rescue adoption contract, pet custody questionnaire, and more.

This text not only covers obvious topics such as dangerous dog litigation, veterinary malpractice, wildlife law, service animals, valuation of animals, humans harmed by animals, end-of-life/euthanasia, and custody issues; but also provides analysis of other areas of law where they intersect with animal law issues, such as: criminal law, estate planning, consumer protection, bankruptcy, insurance law, contractual disputes, and Section 1983.

This edited volume by Professor Randall S. Abate of Florida A&M University College of Law presents a collection of 17 chapters in an attempt to fill the gap - as illustrated above - between the complex legal issues that matter most to environmental law and animal law movements. Environmental law has a longer history and is more established than its animal law counterpart with intricate layers of international, federal, state, and local laws. Animal law currently faces many of the legal and strategic challenges that environmental law faced in seeking to establish a more secure foothold in U.S. and international law and, as such, stands to gain valuable insights from the lessons of the environmental law movement¿s experience in confronting those challenges.
These chapters compare the very different trajectories of the regulatory history of both movements, examining the legal intersections that may exist across them. Prof. Abate draws on the talents of 22 experts in their fields from academia, non-profits, and the legal profession to examine the ways in which animal rights and welfare law can benefit from environmental law. The chapters address various contexts and perspectives from U.S. law, foreign domestic law, and international law on substantive issues including climate change, international trade and the environment, concentrated animal feeding operations, invasive species, lead pollution, and fisheries management, and procedural issues including standing and damages. The book concludes with two chapters that offer a vision for the future regarding how animal law can learn from environmental law and how the two movements can better coordinate their common objectives.

This is the first book of its kind an exciting and illustrative survey of the way different countries and cultures treat animals under the law. Given the breadth and scope of the legal treatment of animals around the world, the book presents selected issues and laws in a text that is readable and helpful to a wide range of readers, including undergraduate and post-graduate courses in sociology, cultural anthropology, international law, animal law, and animals in society. The book is also accessible to readers not matriculating through formal coursework, and provides any reader with a solid understanding of the varied treatment and approaches taken by countries around the world in connection with animals used in every area. A Worldview of Animal Law is split into subject areas tied to the different ways we interact with animals in society, with a focus on comparing the laws in different countries in the current era. Its format and wide coverage make it interesting for readers in any country who want to know about this area of the law, whether for personal, educational or professional reasons. Unlike many casebooks on the market, this is not a law school text, and not a comprehensive survey of one specific country s laws; rather, it provides a more readable and wider view of the compelling issues that arise regarding the integration of animals into society.