"...I have an abiding faith in the fairness of the great mass of American people who I believe will unite in support of a leadership which has for its objective the establishment of a society where social equality and economic stability are not only Utopian theories but realities..."
-from an address delivered at a seminar for Trade Union Leaders on September 7th, 1957, entitled, "The Courts and the Constitution."
We gratefully acknowledge the donation of materials by Jesse Carter's grandson, Mr. Scott Carter.
JUSTICE JESSE W. CARTER OF THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT
Jesse W. Carter graduated from Golden Gate College of Law in 1913 and served as Associate Justice of the California Supreme Court from 1939 until his death in 1959. The Jesse Carter collection at Golden Gate University School of Law consists of copies of speeches given and articles written throughout his career, photographs, newspaper clippings, case files, and a painted portrait. Our archive of digital materials are on our Digital Commons.
The Jesse Carter Collection on our Digital Commons
OTHER MATERIALS OF INTEREST
- 14 Cal 2d 179 (1939) concerns Carter's appointment to the bench.
- An extensive biography of Jesse Carter appears in Justices of California, 1900-1950, Volume II by J. Edward Johnson (1966), which includes discussion of his legal career, his dissents, his love of the outdoors, and "The Battle of Carter's Dam." The footnotes provide references to numerous newspaper articles.
- The 35th Annual Report of the American Civil Liberties Union, July 1, 1954 - June 30, 1955 refers to Jesse Carter on page 57.
- California Supreme Court Historical Society
- We are grateful to the editorial staff of University of California Press for granting permission to post the following article by Corrine Lathrop Gilb: Justice Jesse W. Carter, An American Individualist, 29 Pacific Historical Review 145 (1960).
- The Political Graveyard has an entry for Jesse W. Carter.
- The Josephine Creek Lodge in the Trinity Wilderness was formerly the private estate of Jesse W. Carter.
CASE FILES
The physical collection includes the following case files:
- People v Carter, 1958. Stemming from county filing to abate a public nuisance, i.e., the water level held by the dam on Judge Carter's property in San Anselmo, California. Includes pleadings, depositions, court transcriptions. Also includes a report from a private investigator in the matter of a speeding ticket incurred by Judge Carter.
- People v. Carter, Traffic complaint, May 8, 1958.
- Carter v. Kern, 1959. Stemming from the sale of property, easement and maintenance of access road, water tank, and other matters.
The files also include an extensive collection of newspaper articles surrounding the incident of "Carter's Dam," which have been digitized and are available on our Digital Commons. Please contact the Law Library for access to materials that are not available electronically.
