Research Guides: Deepfake Technology: Databases

Search E-Books

Search Articles & E-Books tool
How to find and use the Search Articles & E-Books tool. This is a good place to start your research process as it searches many, but not all, of the library's databases simultaneously.
Search EBSCO E-Book Collections
How to search for available E-Books through the EBSCO E-Book Database
Search ProQuest E-Book Central
How to search for E-Books through the ProQuest E-Book collection.
ProQuest E-Book Central Accessibility
Accessibility options for ProQuest E-Book Central.

Searching the Databases

To search the Library databases for articles, the simplest place to start is by clicking SEARCH ARTICLES AND E-BOOKS on the library homepage. These keywords and topics can be searched on the library databases and on Google for sources outside the library. As always, make sure to vet your sources.

Keywords – for exploring a this topic

Deepfakes	Artificial Intelligence (A.I.)	Manipulated videos	Falsified videos	Detection
Research	Deep fake	Algorithms	Machine Learning	Computational power
Generative Adversarial Networks	Facebook	Cybersecurity	Counterfeit videos	Fabricated videos
Technology	Microsoft	Fake video technology	Deep learning	Political videos
Camera apps	Fake news	Google	Visual aspects	Camera tricks

CQ Researcher

Algorithms and Artificial Intelligence - Are they being used in harmful ways?
Algorithms increasingly shape modern life, helping Wall Street to decide stock trades, Netflix to recommend movies and judges to dispense justice. But critics say algorithms — the seemingly inscrutable computational tools that help give artificial intelligence (AI) the ability to “think” and “learn” — can lead to skewed results and sometimes social harm. AI might help mortgage companies decide whom to lend to, but qualified borrowers can be rejected if the underlying algorithms are faulty. Companies might use AI to screen job applicants, but skilled talent can be turned away if the algorithms reflect racial or gender bias. Moreover, the use of algorithms is raising difficult questions about who — if anyone — is liable when AI results in injury. The technology is even stirring fears of an AI apocalypse in which computers become so powerful and autonomous that they threaten humankind. Some experts want the federal government to strictly regulate AI to ensure it is not misused, but critics fear more rules would stifle the technology.

Databases

Discovery (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Discovery searches many of the library databases and websites in one-click. Use the Discovery search box to learn more about a topic, identify keywords and phrases for more advanced searching, and review lots of search results that can be filtered by discipline and publication date. Help Guide
Academic Search Complete (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary and peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, and eBooks with comprehensive coverage in key areas of academic study.Help Guide
Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. Reports and other products provided cover a broad range of topics including the U.S. labor market, economy, and society.
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Access legislative information including bills, resolutions, activity in Congress, committee information, presidential nominations and treaties.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the most important issues and controversies of the day, including pro-con analysis. Help Video
Sage Data (Statistical Datasets) This link opens in a new window
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations. Help Guide
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL). Digital access to reference and handbooks on company information, economics, industry information, and consumer behavior. Help videos
PAIS Index (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more on public affairs, policy, and politics. PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Help Guide
ScienceDirect - College Edition This link opens in a new window
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, and open access content. The library has access to the Social and Behavioral Sciences subject collection of journals. View Help Tutorials Topics and Help Tutorials
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results, and industry studies from over 22,500 sources on over 60,000 topics in 600 industries from 50+ countries. Help Video
UNdata This link opens in a new window
Search a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) and other international agencies. Numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points, covering a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade. Getting Started
US Major Dailies (via Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of print articles from The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Los Angeles Times, The Chicago Tribune, and The Washington Post.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Sign up for free access provided by the Business Library using your GGU email.