Research Guides: Project Management: Research & Articles

Searching online and with library databases

Research Strategies

This page provides search tips for Google and library databases. Scroll down for suggested keywords.

Project Management Keywords

Search the Library databases for articles

The simplest place to start is by clicking SEARCH ARTICLES AND E-BOOKS on the library homepage. These keywords and topics can be searched on the library databases and on Google for sources outside the library. As always, make sure to vet your sources.

KEYWORDS – Project Management

“project management”	“business agile” methodology	tools / techniques
digital project management	“agile environment” / agile teams	“best practices” / guidelines
leadership	“agile development framework”	approach / strategy / method
stakeholder	non-agile	framework / methodology
	capacity planning
corporate culture	"resource management"	scope / goal / objective
organizational culture	communication	collaborate / cultivate / proactive
culture of the business	"time management" / "decision making"	improve / adaptive / flexible
cultural differences / diversity/ multicultural	"artificial intelligence"/ "Internet of Things"	implement / implementation
gender in project management	"enterprise project management"	risk / “project risk”
Women in project management	ethics	“case study” OR “case studies”

Search Tips for Project Management

"Phrase search"

Put quotation marks around two or more words to keep them together during the database search. By doing this, you are saying, I want these words to be found in this specific order and beside each other. "Phrase searching" works in most databases including Google and many Library databases. It often greatly improves the relevancy of your search, but not always.

“project management” “annual report” “management system” “press release” “strategic plan”

SITE: search

Find quality articles, blog posts, and journal articles using SITE: search.

Use this technique to search for information that is buried in websites. It is a quick and efficient way to use Google. Here’s what to do. Use the root URL of the website you want to find information in and add keywords. You can also use site: to search for domain names, such as .edu and .gov You will notice that the results list only has items from the one website you want. Try the example searches.

Highly Recommended Sources

Project Management Institute [root URL] https://www.pmi.org/

PMWorld Library [root URL] https://pmworldjournal.com/

Online Resources for Project Management Research

Find quality articles and research papers online using these resources & techniques

Use the SITE: search technique for Project Management Institute and PMWorld Library.

Here are two Google search examples - for PMI

communication site:https://www.pmi.org/

communication AND "white paper" OR conference site:https://www.pmi.org/

Use these reliable resources - listed below. Try site:searching using the root URL.

PMI Online Library Project Management Institute publishes whitepapers, conference papers, articles, and scholarly articles. A fair amount of content is freely available, but with a student membership ($cheap) you can have full access. To select, use the filters and "Content Type". Or, try a site: search using Google. For example, communication site:https://www.pmi.org
PMWolrd Library The PM World Library is an archive of all works originally published in the PM World Journal (PMWJ). The PMWJ is a digital journal published monthly since 2012 containing articles, papers, case studies, reports and other works by authors worldwide who have agreed to share their knowledge and experiences with others.
ProjectManagement.com Find project management articles and webinars. Some content is freely available. To gain access to all content you need to be a PMI member - student discount!
CIO.com Register! It is free. By registering as a student you will have access to whitepapers and research. CIO.com delivers the latest tech news, analysis, how-to, blogs, and video for IT professionals. Covers apps, careers, cloud computing, data center, mobile, and more. CIO.com includes resources such as access research, whitepapers, a magazine, and conferences.
Wall Street Journal - Complementary access
The Wall Street Journal - free subscription courtesy of the Business Library

Searching Library Databases for artilces

Getting Started. Search Articles & E-Books

This tool searches across many, but not all, library databases in a single search. This is a great tool for finding articles (magazine, newspaper and journal) and ebooks.

It is important to understand that Discovery DOES NOT search within certain databases. The tool does not search the company databases: Mergent, S&P, D&B Hoovers, Morningstar, or Value Line. Go directly to these databases when you are doing company research.

Go to the library homepage >>> SEACH ARTICLES AND EBOOKS.

Use the top search box. Click ADVANCED SEARCH

REFINE the search results. Click full text. Change the publication date range to fit your assignment requirements. Only select Scholarly & Peer Reviewed Journal if it is a requirement, otherwise you will miss out on important information from magazines and trade journals. Expand Subjects and click more. Use the subject terms to improve relevancy - research tip: select only one subject at a time and explore the results.

Project Management Journals

The Business Library provides access to these journals and a few are open access. Need help? Ask us.

Project Management: Research & Articles