Research Guides: Government Information: Federal Information

Federal Information

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications.
govinfo (Government Publishing Office)
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
MetaLib
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases.
USA.gov
Also note the A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies at: https://www.usa.gov/federal-agencies/t#current-letter
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, reliable information to help the government save money and work more efficiently.

Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Access legislative information including bills, resolutions, activity in Congress, committee information, presidential nominations and treaties.
Congressional Publications (via Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Access government and official publications, reports, bills, and resolutions.
Military & Government Collection (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature and current news applicable to all branches of the United States military and government. Help Guide

Bureau of Justice Statistics This link opens in a new window
United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics on all aspects of criminal justice in the U.S. at the state, federal, and tribal levels.
Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. Reports and other products provided cover a broad range of topics including the U.S. labor market, economy, and society.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics This link opens in a new window
All aspects of travel and transportation within and into the U.S. including personal, public transportation, and freight. Data covers air, sea, and land transportation.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information.
The Congressional Digest
Reports on pros and cons, background and verbatim arguments of legislation before Congress, each issue dealing with one law under consideration.
FEMA.gov
Deregulation Tracker
Launched in 2017, Reg Tracker is a tool that tracks deregulatory actions under the Trump administration. It monitors a selection of delayed, repealed, and new rules, notable guidance and policy revocations, and important court battles. The rules span a wide range of policy areas, including but not limited to education, finance, environment, and transportation.

American Fact Finder
Find U.S. Census data on population, housing, economic, and geographic information, packaged in maps, tables, and reports.
Data.gov
Easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.

Sage Data (Statistical Datasets) This link opens in a new window
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations. Help Guide

Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology
Federal government statistics that can be accessed by agency, topic or key word.
IT Dashboard
IT Dashboard is a website that allows you to view details of federal information technology investments.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results, and industry studies from over 22,500 sources on over 60,000 topics. This is a good resource for statistics and informative charts and graphs.

Tax Statistics
A wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.

CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook contains overview information about every country and/or territory in the world. Statistics and information on government, economy, communications, transnational issues, and more, are updated every two weeks.
Library of Congress' Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations in other countries.

Trade.gov This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive market intelligence, trade data and business tools to help U.S. companies export to global markets.

International Monetary Fund
Limted access to data on IMF lending, exchange rates, commodities and trade.

The U. S. Intelligence Community by Jeffrey T. Richelson
ISBN: 9780813349190
Publication Date: 2018
The role of intelligence in US government operations has changed dramatically and is now more critical than ever to domestic security and foreign policy. This authoritative and highly researched book written by Jeffrey T. Richelson provides a detailed overview of America's vast intelligence empire, from its organizations and operations to its management structure.