Research Guides: Case Studies: Databases

Library Databases

Find case studies using the library databases on many topics, such as Business, Psychology, Public Administration, etc.

It's easy when you use Journal Finder.

Option 1: Search by a journal title for case studies.

Start at the Business Library homepage. Look for the SEARCH E-JOURNALS search box.

Type in the SEARCH E-JOURNALS search box and enter the title of the journal. Select the database from the dropdown. Click Search within this publication.

Consider these journals:

Journal of Information Technology Teaching Cases
International Journal of Management Cases : IJMC
Journal of the International Academy for Case Studies
Business Case Journal
Journal of Critical Incidents

Option 2: Find journal titles and then search for case studies.

In the SEARCH E-JOURNALS search box type case studies or case research. Browse the journal title list and select a title - click the database (under the Journal's name). Click Search within this publication.

Click Search within this publication. The database opens.

Now, click search and browse the full list of available case studies. Filter by publication year.

Add a simple keyword to focus your search on your area of interest. Keep the concept broad: management, strategic, discrimination, information management.

Search tips for the library catalog & databases:

Keyword search: Add quotation marks to group significant words together. For example: "case studies" "supply chain".
Filter your results: If the database has the menu option, select case studies. For example, Business Source Complete. Advanced Search screen - Publication Type - Case Studies.
The term "case study" often appears in the document title- try adding "case study" to a title search
Try searching with various terms, case study or case studies; or use punctuation to find all forms - type this: case stud*

Library Databases

Business Library Databases with case studies:

Academic Search Complete (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary and peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, and eBooks with comprehensive coverage in key areas of academic study.Help Guide
Business Source Complete (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business are included--marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, eBooks, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. .
Help Guide

CaseBase (via Gale eBooks)
Covers business case studies focused on issues in emerging markets and emerging industries across the globe. (2012)
Encyclopedia of Global Brands (via Gale eBooks)
Contains 270 entries, written in case-study style, that highlight interesting details including how a product originated and was first marketed, how it developed commercially and how it fares today compared with its competitors and its own past history. Included are anecdotes pertaining to the famous, or infamous, marketing strategies and advertising campaigns that managed to capture the sometimes jaded viewers' attention.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies (via Gale eBooks)
Over 100 essays covering some of the top global and emerging brands that appeared from 2014 to 2018. Essays are aligned to the strategic marketing framework, ensuring that the marketing strategies covered can easily be utilized in an academic environment as case studies, or illustrative examples often described as “war stories” by professors.

O'Reilly eBooks and Video This link opens in a new window
More than 40,000 books, videos, case studies, and interactive tutorials. Especially strong for IT and business-related resources.
ProQuest (Multi-Database Search) This link opens in a new window
Access to multiple ProQuest databases in one click. Provides full text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Scholarly and general interest literature in business, social sciences, science and technology, and humanities. Help Guide
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles covering a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Access all journal volumes/issues from January 1, 1999 to the present. Help Guide

Science Direct
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, and open access content. The library has access to the Social and Behavioral Sciences subject collection of journals.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Provides over 900,000 research papers in the social sciences (including business) from over 470,000 researchers in more than 50 disciplines. FAQs