Research Guides: Supply Chain Resources: Articles & eBooks

Search Articles and E-Books

Search Articles & E-Books tool
How to find and use the Search Articles & E-Books tool. This is a good place to start your research process as it searches many, but not all, of the library's databases simultaneously.
Search EBSCO E-Book Collections
How to search for available E-Books through the EBSCO E-Book Database
Search ProQuest E-Book Central
How to search for E-Books through the ProQuest E-Book collection.
ProQuest E-Book Central Accessibility
Accessibility options for ProQuest E-Book Central.

Supply Chain Management. Borrow eBooks from the library.

Search Articles and E-books for resources on supply chain management

Keyword suggestions:

"Supply chain"	Business logistics	Industrial procurement
Supplier	Transporter	Warehouse
Districution center	Fulfillment	Inventory
Operations management	Covid disruptions	Shipping lines
Trucking lines	International logistics	Drones

Apparel & Fashion

Search Articles and E-books for resources on the apparel/fashion supply chain

Keyword suggestions:

Apparel	Clothing	Fashion
Clothing trade	Retail	Warehouse
Washing / Dyeing	Shrinkage	Raw materials
Design stage	Clothing production	Recovery

CQ Researcher

Supply Chains at Risk - CQ Researcher
President Trump's approach to trade policy — using import tariffs and other punitive measures as leverage when negotiating international agreements — is forcing many companies to restructure their global supply chains, which often took decades to develop. International trade rules established after World War II, combined with technological breakthroughs such as robotics, cloud computing and software, have resulted in intricately connected worldwide supply chains that have cut costs and boosted profits. The shifts also have cost thousands of U.S. manufacturing jobs. Trump says his strategy will change that, but many companies and economists say imposing tariffs at levels unseen since the 1930s will not rein in rivals such as China, the world's second-biggest economy and America's biggest trading partner in 2018. As U.S. companies scramble to find non-Chinese suppliers and brace for lower profits, they warn that the cost of the tariffs eventually will mean higher consumer prices. And China has retaliated by imposing its own tariffs on U.S. goods or halting purchases of American farm products, triggering fears of a prolonged “cold” trade war between the two countries.
Food Security - CQ Researcher
Delegates to the U.N. Food Systems Summit this fall face some sobering realities. Some 928 million people — 12 percent of the world's population — were “severely food insecure” in 2020, about 148 million more than in 2019. Severe food insecurity occurs when someone experiences hunger due to lack of food for a day or more. Another 155 million people faced “acute food insecurity,” which can include malnutrition, starvation or famine. The shortages — which were more pronounced in poor countries than in wealthier ones — were caused by conflicts, climate disruption and economic shocks exacerbated by the COVID-19 pandemic. But even before the pandemic, the world was not on track to eliminate hunger by 2030, a major U.N. goal established in 2015. Debates over solutions remain divisive, with some groups calling for more smallholder farms and local approaches, and others saying agribusiness and global trade in food products will still be needed. With food demand projected to increase by more than 50 percent by 2050 in a more climate-stressed world, experts say collaborative approaches — plus rapid adoption of promising innovations — likely will be needed to feed the world.

Databases

Search Articles & E-Books tool
Searches across many, but not all, library databases simultaneously. Use the search box to learn more about a topic, identify keywords and phrases for more advanced searching, and review lots of search results that can be filtered by discipline and publication date. Help Guide

Search A-Z Databases (see examples below)
Search nearly 100 professional research databases.

Academic Search Complete (via Ebsco)
Multidisciplinary and peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, and eBooks with comprehensive coverage in key areas of academic study. Help Guide

Business Source Complete (via Ebsco)
All disciplines of business are included--marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, eBooks, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Help Guide

CQ Researcher
Coverage of the most important issues and controversies of the day, including pro-con analysis. Help Video

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations. Help Guide

PAIS Index (via ProQuest)
Continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more on public affairs, policy, and politics. PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Help Guide

Passport (via Euromonitor International)
A global market research database providing insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Help Guide

ScienceDirect - College Edition
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, and open access content. The library has access to the Social and Behavioral Sciences subject collection of journals. View Help Tutorials Topics and Help Tutorials

Statista
Find statistics, consumer survey results, and industry studies from over 22,500 sources on over 60,000 topics in 600 industries from 50+ countries. Help Video

US Major Dailies (via Proquest)
Full-text of print articles from The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Los Angeles Times, The Chicago Tribune, and The Washington Post.

Wall Street Journal
Sign up for free access provided by the Business Library using your GGU email.

Gale eBooks

Supply Chain Management - Encyclopedia of Management (Vol. 2. 8th ed.)
Supply chain management (SCM) is a broadened management focus that considers the combined impact of all the companies involved in the production of goods and services, from suppliers to manufacturers to wholesalers to retailers to final consumers, and even beyond, to disposal and recycling. This approach to managing production and logistics networks assumes that all companies involved in the process of delivering goods to consumers are part of a network, pipeline, or supply chain. It encompasses everything required to satisfy customers and includes determining which products they will buy, how to produce them, and how to deliver them. The supply chain philosophy ensures that customers receive the right products at the right time at an acceptable price and at the desired location. Companies that practice supply chain management report significant cost and cycle-time reductions. For example, the retail giant Walmart Inc. has credited supply chain management with its increases in inventory turns, decreases in out-of-stock occurrences, and a replenishment cycle that has moved from weeks to days to hours.
Environmental Supply Chain Management - Encyclopedia of Management (Vol. 1. 8th ed.)
Companies that conduct environmental supply chain management (ESCM) use their leverage as procurers to compel their suppliers to incorporate more environmentally friendly methods. These efforts are driven by regulatory pressures and demand from consumers and other stakeholders. ESCM programs typically include environmental performance criteria that suppliers must meet to maintain their contracts. Audits and other verification measures ensure that compliance is achieved. Managing supply chains for environmental sustainability is a continuous process that can reap mutual benefits for procuring companies and their suppliers in terms of brand value, improved efficiency, and reduced operating costs.