Skip to main content
Golden Gate University Logo

Accessing Library Databases

This guide provides information on logging in to the library databases.

Common Problems & Solutions

I'm affiliated with the School of Business and can't access the library databases.

Your access may have expired, or you may not yet be in the library's authentication system. Please submit this form requesting access.


What is OpenAthens?

The library uses a product called OpenAthens to provide access to most of the library databases - it is just a login window.


How do I get an OpenAthens login?

You should have already received an email asking you to activate – gmail, yahoo, etc. If you did not get an email, current faculty, students, and staff affiliated with the School of Business can request an OpenAthens login.

Request OpenAthens login - Form

Alumni can request access to a limited number of databases depending on our vendor contracts.  


I'm trying to activate my login, but I'm getting the message Activation Failed or username or password invalid.

The activation email you are using might have expired. Contact the library so we can send you a new activation email. Also, try closing the browser and starting again.


I forgot my OpenAthens password. How do I reset my password?

Forgot Password - Reset

Important: You can't reset your password if you have not activated your login. See above:  How do I get an OpenAthens login?


I don't know what email to use to login to OpenAthens.

After you have activated your OpenAthens login, you may use the username provided at the time of activation OR the email address you received for the activation (gmail, yahoo, etc.).


I'm trying to activate my login, but OpenAthens isn't accepting my password. 

Password length must be between 8 and 20 characters and contain a mix of letters and characters that are not letters. Passwords are case sensitive. Passwords cannot be the same as the username, contain series of ascending or descending characters (ABC or 123, for example), or contain strings known by hackers to be commonly used such as 'password' or 'letmein'. Passwords can use characters from this list:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 ! " £ $ % ^ & * ( ) - =_+[ ] { } ; ' # : @ ~ , . / < > ? \ |

For the best security, your own passwords should be difficult to guess but easy for you to remember and as lengthy as you can comfortably manage within the constraints.


I was using a library database and got a message saying that my session has expired.

This sometimes happens after a period of keyboard inactivity. Return to the A-Z Database list and click on the database web link to start again. Some databases have a limited number of concurrent users. If you get a message stating that the database is unavailable, try again at a later time.


I don't know my GGU identification number.

Your GGU ID number is located on the front of your GGU ID card. You'll still need this to login to a few databases that aren't yet accessible through OpenAthens. You can also use your GGU4YOU username and password for these resources.


I'm trying to access a library database, but my browser is telling me "Your connection is not secure." What should I do?

The Business Library uses a security certificate for some databases which helps eliminate security exception errors in browsers. However, when database vendors move to a secure site we usually don't learn about that move in advance. The process to add their new web link to our certificate can take up to three weeks. In the meantime, please follow the browser procedures to permanently store the exception on your browser. Also, please let us know about the issue so we can fix it. 


The library web links in eLearning aren't working. What should I do?

If you are having problems accessing articles or reserve materials linked in eLearning, try clearing the cache on your browser. Then close and reopen the browser. Go directly to the Browse A-Z Databases or Find Course Reserves located on the library homepage.

Firewalls & Browsers

Firewalls

If you are trying to connect to a library database from work, there may be a firewall or filtering software preventing access. Please contact the Information and Technology department at your workplace to check. If you are accessing library resources from home, please consult with the reseller or organization that configured your computer to see if they can help you reconfigure your computer.

 


Browser Settings

Sometimes browser settings can cause problems with the library databases. Try the following:

  • Clear history/caches on your computer
  • Cookies must be enabled
  • Pop-ups must be allowed

Most of our databases require these settings to work well. Try a different browser if you still can't connect. Certain browsers do not connect well with specific databases.


Firefox

How to clear the Firefox cache

Chrome

Clear Chrome cache & cookies

Safari

Clear the history and cookies from Safari on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

Internet Explorer

View and delete your browsing history in Internet Explorer