A Practical Guide to Analytics for Governments by
Analytics can make government work better--this book shows you how A Practical Guide to Analytics for Governments provides demonstrations of real-world analytics applications for legislators, policy-makers, and support staff at the federal, state, and local levels.
Analytics by
Analytics: The Agile Way is the eighth book from award-winning author and Arizona State University professor Phil Simon. Analytics: The Agile Way demonstrates how progressive organizations such as Google, Nextdoor, and others approach analytics in a fundamentally different way. They are applying the same Agile techniques that software developers have employed for years. They have replaced large batches in favor of smaller ones...and their results will astonish you. Through a series of case studies and examples, Analytics: The Agile Way demonstrates the benefits of this new analytics mind-set: superior access to information, quicker insights, and the ability to spot trends far ahead of your competitors.
Fraud Data Analytics Methodology by
Uncover hidden fraud and red flags using efficient data analytics Fraud Data Analytics Methodology addresses the need for clear, reliable fraud detection with a solid framework for a robust data analytic plan. By combining fraud risk assessment and fraud data analytics, you'll be able to better identify and respond to the risk of fraud in your audits. Proven techniques help you identify signs of fraud hidden deep within company databases, and strategic guidance demonstrates how to build data interrogation search routines into your fraud risk assessment to locate red flags and fraudulent transactions. These methodologies require no advanced software skills, and are easily implemented and integrated into any existing audit program. Professional standards now require all audits to include data analytics, and this informative guide shows you how to leverage this critical tool for recognizing fraud in today's core business systems. Fraud cannot be detected through audit unless the sample contains a fraudulent transaction. This book explores methodologies that allow you to locate transactions that should undergo audit testing. Locate hidden signs of fraud Build a holistic fraud data analytic plan Identify red flags that lead to fraudulent transactions Build efficient data interrogation into your audit plan Incorporating data analytics into your audit program is not about reinventing the wheel. A good auditor must make use of every tool available, and recent advances in analytics have made it accessible to everyone, at any level of IT proficiency. When the old methods are no longer sufficient, new tools are often the boost that brings exceptional results. Fraud Data Analytics Methodology gets you up to speed, with a brand new tool box for fraud detection.
Learning Social Media Analytics With R by 
Organizational Productivity and Performance Measurements Using Predictive Modeling and Analytics by
Businesses are collecting massive amounts of data every day as a way to better understand their processes, competition, and the markets they serve. This data can be used to increase organizational productivity and performance; however, is essential that organizations collecting large data sets have the tools available to them to fully understand the data they are collecting. Organizational Productivity and Performance Measurements Using Predictive Modeling and Analytics takes a critical look at methods for enhancing an organizationâe(tm)s operations and day-to-day activities through the effective use of data. Focusing on a variety of applications of predictive analytics within organizations of all types, this critical publication is an essential resource for business managers, data scientists, graduate-level students, and researchers.
Style and Statistics by
A non-technical guide to leveraging retail analytics for personal and competitive advantage Style & Statistics is a real-world guide to analytics in retail. Written specifically for the non-IT crowd, this book explains analytics in an approachable, understandable way, and provides examples of direct application to retail merchandise management, marketing, and operations. The discussion covers current industry trends and emerging-standard processes, and illustrates how analytics is providing new solutions to perennial retail problems. You'll learn how to leverage the benefits of analytics to boost your personal career, and how to interpret data in a way that's useful to the average end business user or shopper. Key concepts are detailed in easy-to-understand language, and numerous examples highlight the growing importance of understanding analytics in the retail environment. The power of analytics has become apparent across industries, but it's left an especially indelible mark on retail. It's a complex topic, but you don't need to be a data scientist to take advantage of the opportunities it brings. This book shows you what you need to know, and how to put analytics to work with retail-specific applications. Learn how analytics can help you be better at your job Dig deeper into the customer's needs, wants, and dreams Streamline merchandise management, pricing, marketing, and more Find solutions for inefficiencies and inaccuracies As the retail customer evolves, so must the retail industry. The retail landscape not only includes in-store but also website, mobile site, mobile apps, and social media. With more and more competition emerging on all sides, retailers need to use every tool at their disposal to create value and gain a competitive advantage. Analytics offers a number of ways to make your company stand out, whether it's through improved operations, customer experience, or any of the other myriad factors that build a great place to shop. Style & Statistics provides an analytics primer with a practical bent, specifically for the retail industry.
Learning SQL, 3rd Edition by
As data floods into your company, you need to put it to work right away—and SQL is the best tool for the job. With the latest edition of this introductory guide, author Alan Beaulieu helps developers get up to speed with SQL fundamentals for writing database applications, performing administrative tasks, and generating reports. You’ll find new chapters on SQL and big data, analytic functions, and working with very large databases.
Winning on HR Analytics by
In a dynamic world, the role of HR is central in tapping the vast potential of human capital, and interestingly, blending it with automation and digitization in unique ways. HR analytics is pivotal in identifying, measuring and articulating the objectives and outcomes of different programs. What if you can: * Predict which high performers were at risk of leaving six months before they walked out the door? * Merge external data with your own business metrics to project workforce demand six, nine or even eighteen months from now? * Triage incoming resumes overnight to predict employee success and tenure before you hire? All this and more is possible with sophisticated technology and analytics as demonstrated by companies such as Google, Walmart, and American Express. To leverage analytics, you need to walk a path through reliable data, techniques of analysis, and formulation of hypothesis. This book is a practical, do it yourself handbook to convert analytics into an area of strength and maintain competitive advantage.
Business Analytics for Managers by
The intensified used of data based on analytical models to control digitalized operational business processes in an intelligent way is a game changer that continuously disrupts more and more markets. This book exemplifies this development and shows the latest tools and advances in this field Business Analytics for Managers offers real-world guidance for organizations looking to leverage their data into a competitive advantage. This new second edition covers the advances that have revolutionized the field since the first edition's release; big data and real-time digitalized decision making have become major components of any analytics strategy, and new technologies are allowing businesses to gain even more insight from the ever-increasing influx of data. New terms, theories, and technologies are explained and discussed in terms of practical benefit, and the emphasis on forward thinking over historical data describes how analytics can drive better business planning. Coverage includes data warehousing, big data, social media, security, cloud technologies, and future trends, with expert insight on the practical aspects of the current state of the field. Analytics helps businesses move forward. Extensive use of statistical and quantitative analysis alongside explanatory and predictive modeling facilitates fact-based decision making, and evolving technologies continue to streamline every step of the process. This book provides an essential update, and describes how today's tools make business analytics more valuable than ever. Learn how Hadoop can upgrade your data processing and storage Discover the many uses for social media data in analysis and communication Get up to speed on the latest in cloud technologies, data security, and more Prepare for emerging technologies and the future of business analytics Most businesses are caught in a massive, non-stop stream of data. It can become one of your most valuable assets, or a never-ending flood of missed opportunity. Technology moves fast, and keeping up with the cutting edge is crucial for wringing even more value from your data--Business Analytics for Managers brings you up to date, and shows you what analytics can do for you now.
Business analytics using R -- a practical approach by 
Introduction to Business Analytics Using Simulation by
Introduction to Business Analytics Using Simulation employs an innovative strategy to teach business analytics. It uses simulation modeling and analysis as mechanisms to introduce and link predictive and prescriptive modeling. Because managers can't fully assess what will happen in the future, but must still make decisions, the book treats uncertainty as an essential element in decision-making. Its use of simulation gives readers a superior way of analyzing past data, understanding an uncertain future, and optimizing results to select the best decision. With its focus on the uncertainty and variability of business, this comprehensive book provides a better foundation for business analytics than standard introductory business analytics books. Students will gain a better understanding of fundamental statistical concepts that are essential to marketing research, Six-Sigma, financial analysis, and business analytics. Winner of the 2017 Textbook and Academic Authors Association (TAA) Most Promising New Textbook Award Teaches managers how they can use business analytics to formulate and solve business problems to enhance managerial decision-making Explains the processes needed to develop, report, and analyze business data Describes how to use and apply business analytics software
Sport Business Analytics by
Developing and implementing a systematic analytics strategy can result in a sustainable competitive advantage within the sport business industry. This timely and relevant book provides practical strategies to collect data and then convert that data into meaningful, value-added information and actionable insights. Its primary objective is to help sport business organizations utilize data-driven decision-making to generate optimal revenue from such areas as ticket sales and corporate partnerships. To that end, the book includes in-depth case studies from such leading sports organizations as the Orlando Magic, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Duke University, and the Aspire Group. The core purpose of sport business analytics is to convert raw data into information that enables sport business professionals to make strategic business decisions that result in improved company financial performance and a measurable and sustainable competitive advantage. Readers will learn about the role of big data and analytics in: Ticket pricing Season ticket member retention Fan engagement Sponsorship valuation Customer relationship management Digital marketing Market research Data visualization. This book examines changes in the ticketing marketplace and spotlights innovative ticketing strategies used in various sport organizations. It shows how to engage fans with social media and digital analytics, presents techniques to analyze engagement and marketing strategies, and explains how to utilize analytics to leverage fan engagement to enhance revenue for sport organizations. Filled with insightful case studies, this book benefits both sports business professionals and students. The concluding chapter on teaching sport analytics further enhances its value to academics.
The Analytic Hospitality Executive by
Targeted analytics to address the unique opportunities in hospitality and gaming The Analytic Hospitality Executive helps decision makers understand big data and how it can drive value in the industry. Written by a leading business analytics expert who specializes in hospitality and travel, this book draws a direct link between big data and hospitality, and shows you how to incorporate analytics into your strategic management initiative. You'll learn which data types are critical, how to identify productive data sources, and how to integrate analytics into multiple business processes to create an overall analytic culture that turns information into insight. The discussion includes the tools and tips that help make it happen, and points you toward the specific places in your business that could benefit from advanced analytics. The hospitality and gaming industry has unique needs and opportunities, and this book's targeted guidance provides a roadmap to big data benefits. Like most industries, the hospitality and gaming industry is experiencing a rapid increase in data volume, variety, and velocity. This book shows you how to corral this growing current, and channel it into productive avenues that drive better business. Understand big data and analytics Incorporate analytics into existing business processes Identify the most valuable data sources Create a strategic analytic culture that drives value Although the industry is just beginning to recognize the value of big data, it's important to get up to speed quickly or risk losing out on benefits that could drive business to greater heights. The Analytic Hospitality Executive provides a targeted game plan from an expert on the inside, so you can start making your data work for you.
To gain a competitive advantage, businesses need to implement data analysis-driven strategies. Discerning which type of analysis can be a challenge. This resource center covers key frameworks and emerging technologies for advanced analysis of business data.
Some examples of content below:
The Self-Service Data Roadmap by
Data-driven insights are a key competitive advantage for any industry today, but deriving insights from raw data can still take days or weeks. Most organizations can’t scale data science teams fast enough to keep up with the growing amounts of data to transform. What’s the answer? Self-service data.
Reporting, Predictive Analytics, and Everything in Between by
Business decisions today are tactical and strategic at the same time. How do you respond to a competitor’s price change? Or to specific technology changes? What new products, markets, or businesses should you pursue? Decisions like these are based on information from only one source: data. With this practical report, technical and non-technical leaders alike will explore the fundamental elements necessary to embark on a data analytics initiative.
AI-Driven Analytics by
What happens when you incorporate artificial intelligence into your analytics portfolio? A decade ago, business intelligence applications were simply trying to become more visual. Now, analytics software provides intuitive search and AI-driven features as an integral part of the experience. This practical ebook explains how business professionals like you can AI to find insights buried in your corporate data to make the right decision.
Learning R by 
