Research Guides: Economics: Articles & Research

Research Online

American Economic Association - Guide to Online Resources for Economists
Sponsored by the American Economic Association, this guide lists more than 2,000 resources available on the Internet. Intended for scholarly research and professionals in the field of economics.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
Nonpartisan analysis of the federal budget and the economy for the U.S. Congress.
Centre for Economic Policy Research
Economic research distributed to decision-makers in the European public and private sectors.

Economics - Library Databases

Use library databases to find reports, analysis, and articles.

Business Source Complete (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business are included--marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, eBooks, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. .
Help Guide
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
Unbiased economic research for public policymakers, business professionals and the academic community.
ProQuest (Multi-Database Search) This link opens in a new window
Access to multiple ProQuest databases in one click. Provides full text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Scholarly and general interest literature in business, social sciences, science and technology, and humanities. Help Guide
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Provides over 900,000 research papers in the social sciences (including business) from over 470,000 researchers in more than 50 disciplines. FAQs

Scholarly Research

AgEcon Database
For full-text, scholarly working papers, journal articles and conference papers on agricultural and applied economics.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Type economics in the subject browse search box. Alternatively, click the Search tab and type a keyword search.
Economics Research Network
This is the Social Science Research Network. Click BROWSE to find Economics Research Network. Free registration is required. SSRN is a forum for scholarly communication and includes research and conference papers. Not all items are free. Can't access what you need for free? Try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan. http://www.ggu.edu/forms/interlibrary-loan.jsp
RePEc: Research Papers in Economics
This is an international database of institutional archives of working papers, journal articles, chapters, books and software. It is also a pioneer in open access scholarly communication!

Portals, Research, Reports & More

Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
Nonpartisan analysis of the federal budget and the economy for the U.S. Congress.
EH Net
Resources for economic history and related fields

Economics in the News

Wall Street Journal Online - Full Access
Free subscription to the WSJ Online for GGU students, staff, and faculty, courtesy of the Business Library.

Browse the news online

Wall Street Journal - Economy News

New York Times - United States Economy

Can't find the full-text for free online? Use the library databases. See instructions below:

Find articles & full-text using library databases.

The Economist
Scroll down to the search box titled: Search within this publication. Type keywords.The Economist is a magazine, not a scholarly journal.

The Wall Street Journal
Scroll down to the search box titled: Search within this publication. Type keywords.The Wall Street Journal is a newspaper, not a scholarly journal.

New York Times
Scroll down to the search box titled: Search within this publication. Type keywords.The New York Times is a newspaper, not a scholarly journal.

Researching with Journals

Search journals for articles

Click the journal links below and go directly to the library database with the journal.

SEARCH TIPS

In EBSCO databases click for the link, Search within this publication, and then type a keyword in the second search box. In ProQuest databases you will use the search box called Search within this publication - type a keyword in the box. In Sage Journals type a keyword into the top search box and then select from the auto-suggestion ".... in this journal".

American Economic Journal. Economic Policy American Economic Journal: Economic Policy publishes papers covering a range of topics, the common theme being the role of economic policy in economic outcomes. Subject areas include public economics; urban and regional economics; public policy aspects of health, education, welfare and political institutions; law and economics; economic regulation; and environmental and natural resource economics. Published by the American Economic Association. Full-text is available, but not for the most current two years.
American Economic Journal. Macroeconomics American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics focuses on studies of aggregate fluctuations and growth, and the role of policy in that context. Such studies often borrow from and interact with research in other fields, such as monetary theory, industrial organization, finance, labor economics, political economy, public finance, international economics, and development economics. Published by the American Economic Association. Full-text is available, but not for the most current two years.
American Economic Journal. Microeconomics American Economic Journal: Microeconomics publishes papers focusing on microeconomic theory; industrial organization; and the microeconomic aspects of international trade, political economy, and finance. The journal publishes theoretical work as well as both empirical and experimental work with a theoretical framework. Published by the American Economic Association. Full-text is available, but not for the most current two years.
American Economic Journal: Applied Economics American Economic Journal: Applied Economics publishes papers covering a range of topics in applied economics, with a focus on empirical microeconomic issues. Published by the American Economic Association. Full-text is available, but not for the most current two years.
American Economic Review [digital] Find digital articles in library databases. Two year embargo (articles are not the most current). Request assistance for current articles - available in print. Click "Search within this publication".
Econometrics Journal Covers all aspects of econometrics ( the application of statistical methods to the study of economic data and problems):applied, methodological, computational, practical and theoretical.
Journal of Economic Literature The Journal of Economic Literature is a peer-reviewed academic journal, published by the American Economic Association, that surveys the academic literature in economics. Full-text is available, but not for the most current two years.
Journal of Economic Perspectives The journal aims to publish articles that will serve several goals: to synthesize and integrate lessons learned from active lines of economic research; to provide economic analysis of public policy issues; to encourage cross-fertilization of ideas among the fields of thinking; to offer readers an accessible source for state-of-the-art economic thinking; to suggest directions for future research; to provide insights and readings for classroom use; and to address issues relating to the economics profession. Published by the American Economic Association. Full-text is available, but not for the most current two years.
OECD Observer Published by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Also found online http://oecdobserver.org/
Review of Economics & Statistics Refereed research articles and notes on all aspects of economics and statistics published for the Harvard University Department of Economics.
Review of Economic Studies Research articles on all aspects of theoretical and applied economics.