Research Guides: Newspapers, Magazines, and Journals: Newspapers

ONLINE Newspapers

GGU subscribes to many newspapers digitally available from anywhere:

MOST POPULAR

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Sign up for free access provided by the Business Library using your GGU email. See tab above.
Subscription includes the Wall Street Journal Magazine.
US Major Dailies (via Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of print articles from The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Los Angeles Times, The Chicago Tribune, and The Washington Post.
California Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
A freely accessible repository of digitized California newspapers from 1846 to the present.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Newspaper Source (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. Full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided. Help Guide

Regional Business News (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S and Canada. Help Guide

Public Library Resources

These resources are available free from San Francisco Public Library and may also be available from your local library (must sign up for a library card).

All California residents are eligible for an SFPL library card, but you must first go in person to any branch to get one. After that you can use these resources from home:

The New York Times Digital
Free access. First-time users, check SFPL's New York Times Digital FAQ.
San Francisco Chronicle, Current and Historical
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the historical San Francisco Chronicle from 1865-2017+. Note: Some article images may still be unavailable.
San Francisco Business Times
Latest business news, updated throughout the day. Includes digital archive of weekly editions, Book of Lists, and access to Los Angeles Business Journal.
The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (ProQuest)
Access full-text articles and abstracts from The Wall Street Journal, 1984 to present.
The Wall Street Journal Online Articles
The Wall Street Journal Online articles, from 2010 to present.
PressReader
A collection of 4000 newspapers from 100 countries in 60 languages, many providing same day publication with a 60-day back file. Searchable by country, title, and date.
Periodical Finder (EBSCO)
Find out where to access full-text periodicals online through our database subscriptions or in print at the library.
Russian Newspapers
A variety of newspapers and periodicals from Russia, Ukraine, Central Asia, Caucasus, and the Baltic states. Also includes several English-language newspapers.
San Francisco Examiner Historical
Full page and article images with searchable full text. 1865-2007+. Note: Some article images may still be unavailable.
All SFPL eNewspaper and EMagazines
Here is a full list of SFPL eNewspapers and eMagazines.