Skip to main content

Database Troubleshooting Guide: Common Problems & Solutions

This guide provides solutions to the most common library database problems.

Common Problems & Solutions

I'm a registered student and can't access the library databases.

Your access may have expired, or you may not yet be in the library's authentication system. Please contact us.

I'm a current faculty/staff and can't access the library databases.

Faculty/staff are not automatically added to our authentication system. Please contact the Business Library to verify that we have your information.

I was using a library database and got a message saying that my session has expired.

This happens if you have not actively used the database for a period of time. Return to the A-Z Database list and click on the database web link to start again. Some databases have a limited number of concurrent users. If you get a message stating that the database is unavailable, try again at a later time.

I don't know my GGU identification number.

Your GGU ID number is located on the front of your GGU ID card. It's also available from the Profile tab in your GGU4YOU account.

I'm trying to access a library database, but my browser is telling me "Your connection is not secure." What should I do?

GGU Business Library uses a security certificate which helps eliminate security exception errors in browsers. However, when database vendors move to a secure site we usually don't learn about that move in advance. The process to add their new web link to our certificate can take up to three weeks. In the meantime, please follow the browser procedures to permanently store the exception on your browser. Also, please let us know about the issue so we can fix it. 

The library web links in eLearning aren't working. What should I do?

If you are having problems accessing articles or reserve materials linked in eLearning, try clearing the cache on your browser. Then close and reopen the browser. Go directly to the Browse A-Z Databases or Find Course Reserves located on the library homepage. If you are trying to access a journal, use the Journal Finder to look up the publication and connect to the article you need.

Firewalls & Browsers


If you are trying to connect to a library database or other online resource from work, there may be a firewall or filtering software preventing access. Please contact the Information and Technology department of your workplace to check. If you are accessing library resources from home, please consult with the reseller or organization that configured your computer to see if they can help you reconfigure your computer.



Sometimes browser settings can cause problems with the library databases. Try the following:

  • Clear history/caches on your computer
  • Cookies must be enabled
  • Pop-ups must be allowed

Most of our databases require these settings to work well. Try a different browser if you still can't connect. Certain browsers do not connect well with specific databases.


How to clear the Firefox cache


Clear Chrome cache & cookies


Clear the history and cookies from Safari on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

Internet Explorer

View and delete your browsing history in Internet Explorer

Ask A Librarian




Click here to email your question to our librarians. During open hours Library Staff make every effort to respond promptly; however, replies may take up to 24 hours.


Available during normal business hours.



Available during normal business hours.

chat loading...