Skip to main content
Golden Gate University Logo

Accessing Library Databases

This guide provides information on logging in to the library databases.

Accessing Databases

Accessing the Databases

The databases provided by the Business Library are licensed resources available for academic research to currently enrolled Golden Gate University students, faculty, and staff. Use the database links from the Library website so we can log you in as a GGU user.

Common Problems & Solutions

 


OpenAthens

The library uses a product called OpenAthens to provide access to the databases. University students, faculty, and staff should receive an email from the library to activate their OpenAthens login. Use your OpenAthens username (or your email address) and password to login to the databases as a GGU user. You will only need to authenticate to OpenAthens once per session. An OpenAthens session remains active for up to 8 hours unless you clear your browser history or close your browser.

Request OpenAthens login

OpenAthens Login Screen

You'll see the above OpenAthens login page when trying to access most of the library databases from on campus and remotely.

 


Web Access Management (WAM)

A few databases and course reserve items are still accessible through the library's previous product called Web Access Management (WAM). Login with you GGU4YOU username and password OR your last name (family name) and GGU ID number.

Screenshot

You'll see the above WAM login page when trying to access a few remaining library databases remotely.