Psychology: Career Counseling

Integrating Theory, Research and Practice in Vocational Psychology: Current Status and Future Directions. This publication is based on the 2016 Society for Vocational Psychology (SVP) Biennial Conference, that was held at the Florida State University on May 16-17, 2016.

This book's purpose is to examine the challenges and opportunities for integrating theory, research, and practice in vocational psychology from the perspectives of theorists, researchers, practitioners, and journal editors, with the hope that this knowledge will lead to improved science and career interventions.

Self-Assessment Tools Online

O*NET Interest Profiler    https://www.mynextmove.org/explore/ip

The O*NET's Interest Profiler measures your interests and shows how they relate to careers.

CareerOneStop. Interest, Skills and Work Values Self-Assessment Tools.

https://www.careeronestop.org/ExploreCareers/Assessments/self-assessments.aspx

Career Cluster Interest Survey [Minnesota State Careerwise Education]

https://careerwise.minnstate.edu/careers/clusterSurvey

This 5-10 minute survey lets you rate activities you enjoy, your personal qualities, and school subjects you like. Then you can see which career clusters are a match for your interests.

Search these databases for articles related to career counseling.

Try these keywords: career development, vocational guidance

Multi-disciplinary databases with psychology and counseling articles

Other sources:

Inside Higher Ed is a media company and online publication that provides news, opinion, resources, events and jobs focused on college and university topics. Search for articles with Google using the site: technique. https://www.insidehighered.com  For example, try this search in Google:  career development site:https://www.insidehighered.com

New York Times. Psychology and Psychologists: News about Psychology and Psychologists, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times. Need full text? Use library database.

Public Libraries

San Francisco Public Library has several multidisciplinary databases, and two for psychology. Of special importance are the databases: JSTOR, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection and Psychology Collection. www.sfpl.org  > Tab: eLibrary. Select articles & databases. Select the database name. California resident = library card.

SFPL also has other specialized databases, such as: GenderWatch, Contemporary Women’s Issues, Health & Wellness Resource Center, Teen Health & Wellness, and Physicians’ Desk Reference for Prescription Drugs.

Search within a journal and find articles.

Full text is available using library databases, but some journals restrict access to the most current issue.