E-Books: E-Book Collection (EBSCO)

What are EBSCO eBooks?

EBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books that the library either purchased with a perpetual license or via an annual subscription. eBooks that are owned will be available to the library in perpetuity, with provisions being made for long term access and preservation. eBooks available via subscription are renewed annually for the library to retain access. EBSCO eBooks are available from all major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines. EBSCO eBooks sometimes restricts the number of simultaneous database users so that only one person can access an eBook at a time.

Users can:

• Download titles to mobile devices including iPhones, iPads, Kindle Fires, and Android Devices
• Search within a book for specific words or phrases
• Save, print, or email chapters or sections
• Link to books or book chapters for easy reference or social sharing
• Generate or export citations to bibliographic management tools
• Navigate between sections or chapters and the index via linking

Access Library Database:

eBook Requirements

Computer Users:

Adobe Digital Editions

EBSCO eBooks can be downloaded to your computer and read using the free Adobe Digital Editions. You will also need to use Adobe Digital Editions to transfer an eBook to a supported portable eReader device. A free Adobe ID is required to transfer an eBook to another device, but not if you’re just reading it on the same computer.

• Download Adobe Digital Editions
• Get an Adobe ID

Recommended Browser Settings

• Adobe Acrobat Reader Browser Requirements and settings for all supported browsers
• General browser requirements for the EBSCOhost interface

Recommended Browsers

• Mozilla Firefox
• Google Chrome
• Internet Explorer 11 or later

Mobile Device Users:

Adobe Digital Editions App

Ebook Collection (EBSCO) titles can be downloaded to your mobile device and read with the free Adobe Digital Editions app.

Recommended Software

• Adobe Digital Editions App (Installed on your Apple, Android, or Kindle Fire device)
• An Adobe ID
• An EBSCO ID (It will prompt you to create one or log in with an existing ID)
• Web Browser

Note for Apple Device Users:  Pop-ups must be allowed in the settings for the Safari web browser as the downloaded eBook file opens in a new tab before opening in the Adobe Digital Editions app.

Install Adobe Digital Editions App

Download the Adobe Digital Editions App from your device's app store:

• Google Play Store: Android
• iTunes App Store: Apple iPhones, iPads, and iPod Touch

Downloading eBooks

Computer Users:

To borrow and download eBooks to your computer:

• Search EBSCOhost for an eBook
• Select the eBook that you would like to read and select the DOWNLOAD option
• Follow the database instructions to borrow and download the eBook

To learn more: Checking out and Downloading EBSCO eBooks

Mobile Device Users:

To borrow and download eBooks to your mobile device:

• Search EBSCOhost on your mobile device for an eBook
• Select the eBook that you would like to read and click the DOWNLOAD option
• Follow the database instructions to borrow and download the eBook

To learn more: How can I download and read eBooks on my mobile device?

Frequently Asked Questions:

Why can't I download this eBook?

• 1-user eBooks can't be downloaded
• Some publishers restrict the amount of pages your can print/download in a 24-hour period

How long can I have access to a downlodaed eBook?

Check the Concurrent User Level details of the eBook:

Save, Print, Email eBook Chapters

Depending on publisher-specified limits, EBSCO eBook can be printed, saved, or emailed as a PDF file.

Note:

• Some titles may not allow for printing due to individual publisher-specified limits
• The number of pages you can print may vary depending on individual publisher-specified limits
• If you have reached your printing limit, the option to print or save eBook pages will be temporarily for a 24-hour period

To learn more: How to Print, E-mail or Save EBSCO eBooks Pages as a PDF

Frequently Asked Questions

Why can't I access this eBook?

• EBSCO eBooks sometimes restricts the number of simultaneous database users so that only one person can access an eBook at a time.