A research method is a way of doing research. This can include focus groups, surveys, interviews, etc. A research method is the general approach a researcher takes in carrying out a research project (e.g. a particular quantitative or qualitative research design) (Practical Research Planning and Design. Glossary).
Research Methods in business - read this entry from the Encyclopedia of Management for a general overview (Gale E-Books).
To find these answers - click on Sage Research Method's Project Planner. From the left menu, select Philosophy of Research.
Sage Research Methods is an online tool. It supports researchers at all levels by providing materials to guide users through every step of the research process.
This database includes ebooks with research methods covering a variety of areas and disciplines. Review a small sample of available titles, see the box on this page: EBOOKS. From Sage Research Methods. Sage Research Methods also include videos, articles, and a specially designed guide to help students through the research process - Project Planner.
Use the quick links on the Sage Research Methods homepage.
Learn how to find resources to support your research topic (i.e. Business & Management, Psychology, Health, etc...)
When searching in the library catalog or using a library database, you can improve your search results by using SUBJECT terms. Change the default setting from keyword to subject, and try the recommended subject terms in the list below.
Search Tip: Library databases typically have a menu option called Thesaurus - click this to find the subject terms used for that specific database.
Search the Library Catalog - eBooks.
Select a database from the A-Z Database list.
Library Catalog Subject Terms
Database Subject Terms
An institutional review board (IRB), also known as an 'independent ethics committee' ('IEC'), 'ethical review board' ('ERB'), or 'research ethics board' ('REB'), is a type of committee used in research in the United States that has been formally designated to approve, monitor, and review biomedical and behavioral research involving humans. The boards often conduct some form of risk-benefit analysis in an attempt to determine whether or not research should be completed using the proposed methods.
The purpose of the IRB is to assure that appropriate steps are taken to inform and to protect the rights and welfare of humans participating as subjects in a research study. Contact your GGU advisor for more information.
The Marking Research Association’s (MRA) Code of Marketing Research Standards (Cod) is designed to promote an ethical culture in the marketing research profession where principles of honesty, professionalism, fairness and confidentiality combine to support the profession’s success. Click the MIRA PDF document for full details.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) offers a FREE tutorial - Protecting Human Research Participants. To begin, click Registration and make an account. This training is very thorough and will prepare you for the ethical considerations needed to design your research.
Collaborative Institutional Training Initiative (CITI Program) provides a large selection of fee-based courses, including: Human Subjects Research, Essentials of Statistical Analysis, and Information Privacy & Security.