Research Guides: Industry Research: Databases

Industry Overviews, Profiles, and Financial Performance

Key resources

Business Source Complete (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Search for industry profiles (MarketLine reports) by clicking "industry profiles" on the right side of your screen. You can also search for articles using the main search box. Provides full text for nearly 8,200 business serials including Harvard Business Review. Additional full text content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analysis.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Annual company reports, ratio data, executive information, analyst reports, SWOT analyses, credit ratings and recent developments. Also includes, industry reports. Help Guide
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive global company database. Search for industry reports by going to the industry tab or search by company name or ticker symbol.
Passport (via Euromonitor International) This link opens in a new window
A global market research database providing insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Help Guide
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
To find an industry survey, browse under the "Quick Links" heading by industry name. You can also search by company under the "Publication Search" to find an industry survey in which a particular S&P 500 company operates.
ABI/INFORM Collection (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes important business-related full-text scholarly journals, key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Help Guide
Statista This link opens in a new window
Choose "Reports" >>"Industry Reports"

SEARCH E-JOURNALS
Find publications on the shelf at the library and online.

U.S. Foreign Trade information

For U.S. Foreign Trade information (imports & exports), register for free access to:

"...a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. With multiple data sets and capabilities, manufacturers and other businesses wishing to expand their business globally can utilize USA Trade Online to identify new markets, evaluate existing markets, and perform other market research tasks...
...This powerful software allows users to create customized reports and colorful charts detailing international trade data at different levels. All data are updated each month with the release of the latest U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services Report."

Monthly commodity imports/exports can be searched by state and by Harmonized System (HS) Code or by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) among other features. This site will give background information on foreign trade data.

The U.S. International Trade Commission is another source of trade information, including investigations of trade practices concerning specific products. Among many publications, they publish an annual review of services trade.

Industry Reports & Profiles

Find the below sources of information using the library's Journal Finder:

Plunkett Research is a provider of industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. The Business Library does not subscribe to their database, but their Plunkett Analytics Reports which provide "deep industry benchmarks, statistics, financials and revenue forecasts," are available in the library database ABI/INFORM Collection. To get to the list of the broad industry categories they cover, search by Plunkett Analytics Reports in the Journal Finder.
Barnes Reports are also lengthy industry sector reports. To see the list, search by US Industry & Market Reports in the Journal Finder. (These reports are contained in the library database ABI/INFORM Collection.)
BMI Industry Insights are short reports covering various aspects of broad industries. To see the list, search by BMI in the Journal Finder. (These reports are contained in the library database Nexis Uni.)
First Research Industry Profiles can be viewed by going to the Journal Finder and searching by First Research Industry Profiles. (They are contained in the library database ABI/INFORM Collection.)

Featured Title

Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory

Provides information on firms and individuals from the U.S. and Canada in the consulting services industry. Covers 14 general fields of consulting activity ranging from agriculture to marketing, and more than 400 specialties are represented, including finance, computers, fund-raising and others. Branch office addresses and contact numbers are also provided, when available.