This is the "Home" page of the "Career Development" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide lists books, websites, videos and databases covering job listings, how to write resumes and cover letters, prepare for interviews, career guidance, salary negotiation and much more!
Last Updated: Apr 8, 2014 URL: http://ggu.libguides.com/career Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recent Books

Career Opportunities via Library Databases

Several library databases can help you in your career development path. We have databases that can help you research companies (possible employers!), market opportunities, and even job listings.

  • BizJournals (via American City Business Journals)
    This collection includes the San Francisco Business Times and other local business papers. Take a look at local job listings!
  • ReferenceUSA Directory
    Reference USA's US Businesses database now includes job listings for companies you look up! And take a look at helpful webinars on effective searching, such as "Uncovering the Hidden Job Market: Career Search Strategies": Wednesdays (3 October – 19 December) 2:30-3:30 PM Central: http://bit.ly/Rfm5GI
  • Uncovering the Hidden Job Market: Career Search Strategies (webinar)
    Attendees will learn how to use ReferenceUSA as part of their Career Searching Strategy. Wednesdays (3 October – 19 December) 2:30-3:30 PM Central

Career Development Websites

Take a look at these suggested websites for Career Development!

  • GGU Office of Career Planning
    Students and alumni have free access to career consulting, career management seminars and networking opportunities.
  • SFGate Jobs
    Jobs listings in the Bay Area, including advice articles by Monster.
  • National Career Development Association
    Provides professional development, resources, standards, scientific research, and advocacy.
  • BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook
    The profiles featured cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.
  • O*NET OnLine
    O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more. The database updated by surveying a broad range of workers from each occupation. The Career Exploration Tools include assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.
  • CareerOneStop  
      
    Includes reports by Occupation, Industry, or State. Provides wage and trends information, and state labor market reports. Also includes a handy Military to Civilian Occupation Translator!
  • Glassdoor
    Search millions of job listings and see company salaries, reviews, and inside connections for any company

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sarah Ross
Contact Info
(415) 442-7251
Send Email
 

Instant Message

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip