You must log in to the Library databases using your myGGU account username and password. If you are a current student and do not have a myGGU acount please contact the Helpdesk at itservicedesk@ggu.edu. If you are alumni or a non-current DBA student contact askalibrarian@ggu.edu for access.
What is OpenAthens?
The library uses a product called OpenAthens to control access to most of the library databases. It's not a database, but instead a login page for the library. You will not be logging directly into OpenAthens but will instead use your myGGU credentials to authenticate when prompted.
Licensing agreements restrict which cohorts of students can access Business Library resources. Law students may be provided with limited access to particular resources on an as-needed basis. Contact: askalibrarian@ggu.edu.
This sometimes happens after a period of keyboard inactivity. Return to the A-Z Database list and click on the database web link to start again. Some databases have a limited number of concurrent users. If you get a message stating that the database is unavailable, try again at a later time.
Your GGU ID number is located on the front of your GGU ID card.
If you are trying to connect to a library database from work, there may be a firewall or filtering software preventing access. Please contact the Information and Technology department at your workplace to check. If you are accessing library resources from home, please consult with the reseller or organization that configured your computer to see if they can help you reconfigure your computer.
Sometimes browser settings can cause problems with the library databases. Most of our databases require these settings to work well:
Try a different browser if you still can't connect. Certain browsers do not connect well with specific databases.
How to clear the Firefox cache
Clear Chrome cache & cookies in Chrome
Clear the history and cookies from Safari on your Mac
View and delete your browsing history in Internet Explorer