Research Guides: Information Technology Management (ITM): Databases

Faulkner

Faulkner Information Services

Faulkner Information Services has been a respected provider of IT and communications information services for some 40 years. Subscribers include business planners, consultants, service providers, IT staff, libraries, technology providers, and government agencies.

Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS) This link opens in a new window
Reports covering key technology areas such as IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors. Help Guide and Search Tips

Help Guide for FAITS
Quick description of the report types in FAITS.
Search Tips for FAITS
It’s easy to find the documents you want in Faulkner’s database. Just type
in a few words or phrases. Try to use discriminating terms that are likely to
be found only in the documents you seek. The more words you give, the
better results you’ll get. Here are some examples:

Faulkner Security Management Practices (SMP) This link opens in a new window
Insightful, real-world reports for meeting today’s complex security and business continuity challenges. Help Guide

Help Guide for Faulkner Security Management Practices
A brief description of how Faulkner's Security Management Practices database can help.

S&P Global NetAdvantage

S&P industry surveys and The Outlook.

Stock reports analyze the most current financial performance of a company. Reports for the S&P 500 are available in Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage database. The stock reports include a detailed analysis with visuals and a recommendation for (sell, hold, buy) for investors.

S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Evaluate performance, analyze financials, and gather market data. Industry Surveys, Analysts’ Handbook and The Outlook publications are also available.

Articles on the IT Industry

Finding Articles on a Company

Try the library databases listed below:

enter your company name into the first search box
select Company/Organization from the drop-down menu
add an additional search topic (such as "enterprise architecture")

ABI/INFORM Collection (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes important business-related full-text scholarly journals, key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Help Guide

Business Source Complete (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business are included--marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, eBooks, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. .
Help Guide

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL). Digital access to reference and handbooks on company information, economics, industry information, and consumer behavior. Help videos

SWOT Analysis

To find a MarketLine report with a SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) analysis of a company:

Go to the Business Source Complete database.
Use the Advanced Search boxes. In the top search box - type the company name. In the second search box - type SWOT.
Now, look in the results list. Select the most current year.
If the results did not find the company you are researching - check the company name. Did you spell it correctly? Is this an abbreviation of the company name? You need to find out the full name of the company and try the search again.

CRUSH Report

CRUSH Reports offer the most extensive and up-to-date company profiles on Fortune 1000 and Global 500 companies. Each report provides an overview of IT architectures, business and technology initiatives, organizational structures, corporate strategies, budgets and key decision maker contact information.

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Annual company reports, ratio data, executive information, analyst reports, SWOT analyses, credit ratings and recent developments. Also includes, industry reports. Help Guide

Statistics

Detecting Trends in 600 Industries. Every statistic you need, right at your fingertips.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results, and industry studies from over 22,500 sources on over 60,000 topics in 600 industries from 50+ countries. Help Video